16 Modi ral­lies likely in K’taka; BJP 2nd list out

The Asian Age - - Front Page - YO­JNA GUSAI

The BJP on Mon­day an­nounced a sec­ond list of 82 can­di­dates for the Kar­nataka Assem­bly polls and un­veiled plans to launch a cam­paign blitzkrieg led by Prime Min­is­ter Naren­dra Modi who will ad­dress 16 ral­lies in eight days be­gin­ning April 29.

The BJP’s sec­ond list has taken to 154 the num­ber of con­stituen­cies for which it has de­clared its nom­i­nees. The Congress had an­nounced 218 names on Sun­day.

Elec­tions for the 224 Assem­bly seats are sched­uled on May 12 and the re­sults will be an­nounced on May 15.

Prominent names in the BJP’s sec­ond list in­clude tainted min­ing baron G. Ja­nard­han Reddy’s el­der brother, G. So­mashekar Reddy, from Bel­lary City, and son of late chief min­is­ter S. Ban­garappa, Kumar Ban­garappa, from Sorab.

Kumar Ban­garappa quit the Congress last year and joined the BJP. He is set to con­test against his younger brother Madhu Ban­garappa of the Janata Dal ( Sec­u­lar), who de­feated him in the 2013 polls.

With most pre­dic­tions favour­ing a hung Assem­bly, the BJP is prepar­ing to once again rely on Mr Modi’s charisma to push its “Congress Mukt” cam­paign in the south­ern state where it is fac­ing a tough chal­lenge.

Mr Modi will ad­dress his first rally in Ko­lar, south­ern Karan­taka and an­other in Raichur on April 29.

The Prime Min­is­ter will ad­dress two ral­lies on May 1 in Bel­lari and Be­la­gavi and then two

more ral­lies on May 3 in Chama­ra­jana­gar and Udupi. Mr Modi is ex­pected to ad­dress pub­lic ral­lies in Ja­makhandi and Ben­galuru on May 5, Kal­aburgi and Hub­balli on May 6, Shiva­monga and Tumkuru on May 7 and Man­ga­lore and Ben­galuru on the fol­low­ing day. The Prime Min­is­ter will ad­dress two more ral­lies on May 9 for which the venues are yet to be fi­nalised. The BJP had failed to re­tain power in 2013 when it man­aged to win just 40 seats while the Congress won 122 seats. H. D. Deve Gowda- led JD( S) won 40 seats. In the sec­ond list, the BJP has named from Sa­gar former state min­is­ter Haratalu Halappa, who had to quit over an al­leged sex­ual as­sault case in 2009 in which he was ac­quit­ted last year. He ear­lier rep­re­sented Sorab con­stituency. Among the prominent con­stituen­cies for which the party is yet to an­nounce its can­di­dates are Varuna, for which party’s chief min­is­te­rial can­di­date and former chief min­is­ter B. S. Yed­dyu­rappa’s son B. Y. Vi­jayen­dra is said to be a strong con­tender.

The Congress has fielded chief min­is­ter Sid­dara­ma­iah’s son Yatheen­dra from Varuna, cur­rently held by the chief min­is­ter who has shifted to Chamundesh­wari. The BJP has not an­nounced its can­di­date against the chief min­is­ter.

The Congress has fielded G. B. Malathesh against BJP’s chief min­is­te­rial can­di­date B. S. Yed­dyu­rappa.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.