The Assam Tribune

Tripura Bru settlers to vote in Mizoram bypoll


AIZAWL, Oct 26: People of Bru community, who fled Mizoram following an ethnic conflict and who are now being rehabilita­ted in Tripura, will cast their votes in the by-election to the Tuirial Assembly constituen­cy in north Mizoram, to be held on October 30. Their names are still enlisted in the Mizoram electoral roll.

Mizoram CEO P Jawahar said that as per instructio­ns from the Election Commission of India (ECI), the Brus in Tripura, who are enlisted in the electoral roll under the Tuirial constituen­cy, will cast their votes in the ensuing bypoll.

According to the State Election Department, 663 Bru voters from Tripura are eligible to vote under the Tuirial constituen­cy in Kolasib district. As per the arrangemen­t, they will exercise their franchise at the Hortoki and Zodin polling stations in Mizoram.

Meanwhile, the Young Mizo Associatio­n (YMA), the State!s largest civil society group, said that it would raise objections if any special arrangemen­ts are made for the Bru voters from

Tripura. YMA president Vanlalruat­a said that they would not object if the Brus, who are eligible voters in Mizoram, come at their own expense to cast their votes here.

The CEO on Monday told the YMA leaders that till date the ECI has made no special arrangemen­t for the Bru voters, and that they would cast their votes like local voters in their own polling stations.

The CEO also warned political parties in Mizoram not to transport Bru voters, or any voters, to the polling stations, which is violation of the Model

Code of Conduct.

Political parties in Mizoram will make their final efforts on Wednesday to woo voters before the end of campaign at 6 pm on the day.

Though there are four candidates, the bypoll is mainly a triangular fight between the ruling Mizo National Front, and the Opposition Zoram People!s Movement and the Congress.

Besides the three major parties, the BJP, which is yet to make a foothold in the Christian-dominated State, is also contesting the bypoll.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India