BJP Tar­gets to Win 21 Out of 25 Lok Sabha Seats in North East

The Day After - - STATES DIARY -

Af­ter lead­ing state govern­ments in As­sam, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, Manipur and be­ing part of coali­tion govern­ment in Nagaland, Meghalaya and Sikkim, the BJP na­tional Pres­i­dent Amit Shah has given a tar­get of 21 Lok Sabha seats to its North East party cadres. Shah has as­signed the task to Union Min­is­ter Ravi Shankar Prasad and North East Demo­cratic Al­liance (NEDA) Chair­man Hi­manta Biswa Sarma.

BJP is plan­ning to con­test Kokra­jhar Lok Sabha seat, which has miffed its NDA part­ner BPF (Bodoland Peo­ple’s Front). In 2014, BPF had lost this seat as NDA ally. BPF feels BJP is in­trud­ing in their ter­ri­tory. Out of 25 Lok Sabha seats, NDA won 11 seats in 2014. BJP on its own won seven Lok Sabha seats in As­sam and one in Arunachal Pradesh while its al­lies in NEDA won three seats.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.