AAP to Con­test All Lok Sabha Seats in Delhi, Pun­jab and Haryana

The Day After - - DAIRY -

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will con­test in­de­pen­dently on all Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, Pun­jab and Haryana in the up­com­ing 2019 gen­eral elec­tions. The Arvind Ke­jri­wal-led party will, how­ever, field its can­di­dates on se­lected seats in other states, party lead­ers said. In the 2014, AAP had fielded 432 can­di­dates across the coun­try. This in­cluded all 80 seats in Ut­tar Pradesh, 48 in West Ben­gal, 40 in Bi­har, seven in Delhi, 13 in Pun­jab and 10 in Haryana. But the party could won just four seats (all from Pun­jab).

“We will con­test on all seats in Delhi, Pun­jab and Haryana in the 2019 polls,” said Gopal Rai, AAP’s Delhi con­vener. The party has al­ready an­nounced can­di­dates for five of Pun­jab’s 13 Lok Sabha seats and in-charges for six out of seven seats in Delhi. De­ci­sion for field­ing can­di­dates in 10 seats of Haryana will be taken soon, Rai said.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.