Zahid, Sangeeta top seeded

The Free Press Journal - - FPJ SPORTS -

Zahid Ahmed of Air In­dia and Sangeeta Chan­dorkar of Re­serve Bank of In­dia are given the place of pride in the Rs 1.10 lakh prize-money 6th Bom­bay YMCA Mum­bai Dis­trict Rank­ing Car­rom cham­pi­onship, or­gan­ised by Proc­tor YMCA and co-spon­sored by Muthoot Fi­nance to be held at the Proc­tor YMCA branch, Agri­pada, Mum­bai Cen­tral start­ing from Mon­day.

Over 350 play­ers from Mum­bai dis­trict have con­firmed their par­tic­i­pa­tion in this five-day tour­na­ment.

Girish Tambe (MCGM), and Mohd Ghufran (In­dian Oil Cor­po­ra­tion) are seeded sec­ond and third while World cham­pion Prashant More (Re­serve Bank of In­dia) is the fourth seed in the men’s event.

Sangeeta will cer­tainly en­counter stiff chal­lenge from sec­ond Priti Khedekar (PCDA Navy), third seed Sushma Pardeshi (Shivthara SC) and fourth seed Ur­mila Shendge (Re­serve Bank of In­dia). In­ter­na­tional Um­pire J.V. Sangam (Mum­bai) has been ap­pointed as ‘Chief ref­eree’ and he will be as­sisted by Asst. Chief ref­eree Su­nil Khemkar.


Men: 1. Zahid Ahmed (Air In­dia),

2. Girish Tambe (MCGM), 3. Mohd Ghufran (In­dian Oil Cor­po­ra­tion), 4. Prashant More (Re­serve Bank of In­dia), 5. Vikas Dharia (MCGM). 6. Ab­hishek Bharati (S.S. Group), 7. Fahim Qaji (worli Sports Club), 8. Vinod Baria (MCGM).

Women: 1. Sangeeta Chan­dorkar (Re­serve Bank of In­dia) 2. Priti Khedekar (PCDA Navy), 3. Sushma Pardeshi (Shivthara SC),

4. Ur­mila Shendge (Re­serve Bank of In­dia).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.