Jamie Chad­wick makes his­tory

Be­comes the first woman to claim the cham­pi­onship in seven sea­sons

The Hindu - - SPORT - Sports Bureau 1. Pa­trick Pasma (Fin) 35:35.212s;

Eng­land’s Jamie Chad­wick scripted his­tory in the MRF Chal­lenge, be­com­ing the first fe­male driver to claim the cham­pi­onship in seven sea­sons, as she fin­ished the third and fi­nal round of the In­ter­na­tional series with a triple crown, in­clud­ing two back-to-back wins, at the MMRT here on Sun­day.

The 20-year-old, who had won three of the five races in the pre­vi­ous round in Bahrain, sur­vived a long day and 58 laps by win­ning two races while Fin­land’s Pa­trick Pasma took the hon­ours in the other as MRF Chal­lenge 2018-19 drew to a close.

De­fourny sec­ond

While Chad­wick ended the cham­pi­onship with 280 points, in­clud­ing two bonus points for the fastest lap in the last race, Bel­gium’s Max De­fourny, who came into the fi­nal round with an 18-point ad­van­tage, failed to con­sol­i­date and ended up with 243 points. Pasma was third with 186 points, ahead of Ger­man Andreas Est­ner (181).

“It (win­ning the cham­pi­onship) hasn’t sunk in yet. I would like to thank my team and am happy that ev­ery­thing came to­gether this week­end. In the last race, I made some mis­takes, which cost me the lead for a bit, but I quickly com­posed my­self and made sure I won, said an elated Chad­wick.

“I came into the MRF Chal­lenge for some ex­pe­ri­ence and ex­po­sure and not to win. But af­ter win­ning three races in Bahrain, I re­alised I was in with a chance and went for it this week­end.”

The re­sults: MRF Chal­lenge (F2000): Race 3 (20 laps):

2. Michelan­gelo Amen­dola (Bel) 35:35.569; 3. Li­nus Lindqvist (Swe) 35:36.281; Race 4 (18 laps): 1. Jamie Chad­wick (UK) 27:39.087; 2. Amen­dola 27:40.106; 3. Jack Doohan (Aus) 27:46.896; Race 5 (20 laps): 1. Chad­wick 30:46.505;

2. Pasma 30:47.574; 3. Amen­dola (30:48.164).

MRF MMSC FMSCI In­dian Na­tional rac­ing cham­pi­onship: For­mula LGB 1300 (Race 3, 10 laps): 1. Chi­rag Ghor­pade (Mo­men­tum Mo­tor Sports) 15:35.070; 2. Ti­jil Rao (Mo­men­tum Mo­tor Sports) 15:35.528; 3. K. Suriya Varathan (M Sport) 15:36.030.

Sa­loon Cars (Su­per stock, Race 2, 10 laps): 1. P. Raja Ra­jan (Per­for­mance Rac­ing) 20:26.602; 2. Rithvik Thomas (Race Con­cepts) 20:34.767; 3. Joel Joseph (Race Con­cepts) 20:41.701.

Sup­port Race: MRF F1600 (Race 2, 10 laps): 1. Lee Dee­gan (UK) 16:54.757; 2. A. Bala Prasath (Coim­bat­ore) 16:55.452; 3. So­hil Shah (Bengaluru) 16:55.654; Race 3 (10 laps): 1. Nayan Chat­ter­jee (Mum­bai) 16:40.939; 2. Bala Prasath 16:49.098; 3. So­hil 17:00.516.


In the fast lane: Jamie Chad­wick speed­ing around the MMRT track on Sun­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.