By­laws al­most ready for 35 of Delhi’s mon­u­ments

The Times of India (New Delhi edition) - - TIMES CITY -

New Delhi: The Na­tional Mon­u­ments Au­thor­ity (NMA) has di­vided 915 na­tional struc­tures, in­clud­ing 162 ASI ones in Delhi, into eight cat­e­gories. The project is ex­pected to help NMA in fram­ing com­mon her­itage by­laws.

In Delhi, by­laws for about 35 mon­u­ments are in the fi­nal stages, in­clud­ing Sher Shah Gate, Khairul Manzil and Niza­mud­din mon­u­ments. “The cat­e­gori­sa­tion of 915 mon­u­ments from Delhi, Bhopal, Chandigarh and Vado­dra has been com­pleted and a pro­posal sent to the cul­ture min­istry for no­ti­fi­ca­tion. Un­der Phase-II, cat­e­gori­sa­tion in Agra and Lucknow is un­der fi­nal stages too,’’ said an NMA of­fi­cial.

“The draft has been pre­pared in ac­cor­dance with the reg­u­la­tions of the ASI Act. It will even­tu­ally be sent to the cul­ture min­istry for no­ti­fi­ca­tion,” said an of­fi­cial. The cat­e­gories are ex­pected to help in ur­ban de­vel­op­ment projects for which clear­ances will be re­quired for mon­u­ment-con­trolled ar­eas.

The di­vi­sion was mostly done within NMA, though, com­ments and sug­ges­tions were in­vited from ex­perts in the field of ar­chi­tec­ture, con­ser­va­tion, ur­ban plan­ning, etc. Once the cat­e­gories are no­ti­fied, mon­u­ments will get an of­fi­cial tag. “It will also help in their pro­tec­tion and in­creas­ing tourist foot­fall. Struc­tures that face threats of ur­ban­i­sa­tion and en­croach­ment have been listed sep­a­rately,” said an of­fi­cial.

While Delhi has three world her­itage sites — Qu­tub Mi­nar, Hu­mayun’s Tomb and Red Fort — the first cat­e­gory of pro­tected mon­u­ments and ar­chae­o­log­i­cal sites in­scribed on Unesco’s world her­itage list in­cludes Arab Ki Sarai, Nila Gum­bad, Iron Pil­lar and Af­sar-wala Tomb. Cat­e­gory-II has 10 mon­u­ments, in­clud­ing Delhi Gate, Ajmeri Gate, Mutiny Memo­rial, and Tomb of Sul­tan Razia, which are on a ten­ta­tive Unesco her­itage list.

The third cat­e­gory has 10 build­ings in New Delhi while the fourth con­sists of tick­eted mon­u­ments. Cat­e­gory-V only men­tions Na­jaf Khan’s Tomb with an ad­e­quate flow of visi­tors iden­ti­fied for charg­ing fee. The sixth cat­e­gory con­sists of liv­ing mon­u­ments, which re­ceive a large num­ber of visi­tors and pil­grims.

The sev­enth has mon­u­ments in ur­ban/semi­ur­ban lim­its and re­mote vil­lages, which is fur­ther clas­si­fied into three sub-cat­e­gories on the ba­sis of ur­ban pres­sure. While sub-cat­e­gory A has 18 mon­u­ments, sub-cat­e­gory B has some fac­ing ur­ban pres­sure, but pos­sess­ing sig­nif­i­cant green­ery. The fi­nal and Cat­e­gory-VIII in­cludes ar­chae­o­log­i­cal parks.

Sher Shah Gate is among the mon­u­ments that come un­der the by­laws in Delhi

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.