IATO to elect new team in April

Come April 28, the In­dian As­so­ci­a­tion of Tour Oper­a­tors (IATO) will elect its new team un­der the supervision of Ak­shay Ku­mar, Vice Chair­man, FAITH, who will be the Re­turn­ing Of­fi­cer for the elec­tion.

TravTalk - India - - BULLETIN -

The re­cent lun­cheon meet­ing of IATO saw full at­ten­dance by mem­bers and rep­re­sen­ta­tion from the Min­istry of Tourism. Meenakshi Sharma, Ad­di­tional Di­rec­tor Gen­eral, Min­istry of Tourism, Gov­ern­ment of In­dia and Ashima Mehro­tra, Di­rec­tor, Min­istry of Tourism, Gov­ern­ment of In­dia, ad­dressed the mem­bers and re­sponded to their queries. Pronab Sarkar, Pres­i­dent, IATO, said, “The agenda of our meet­ing was to in­ter­act with Min­istry of Tourism as our mem­bers were full of queries. The MOT is do­ing a fan­tas­tic job, and they have co­op­er­ated with us on many of our is­sues and even re­solved them. The in­ter­ac­tive ses­sion with the MOT was quite sat­is­fac­tory as stated by all our mem­bers.”

An­other high­light of the meet­ing was the an­nounce­ment of IATO elec­tions. Speak­ing on the same, Sarkar said, “We have just an­nounced the IATO elec­tions on April 28, 2018, at The Ashok, New Delhi. The cur­rent team is com­plet­ing its two-year term, and there­after the elec­tion process will start in due course.”

Adding to this, Ra­jiv Mehra, Vice Pres­i­dent, IATO, said that Ak­shay Ku­mar, Vice Chair­man, FAITH, will be the - nom­i­na­tions is March 21 (3 pm) and the last date to with­draw will be March 26 (3 pm).

Mehra also re­vealed that IATO is work­ing on de­vel­op­ment of fa­cil­i­ties for the mon­u­ments it has adopted. “IATO has taken up El­lora caves in Au­rangabad and Group of Mon­u­ments Ma­ha­balipu­ram un­der MOT’s ‘Adopt a Her­itage’ scheme. We will be look­ing af­ter clean­li­ness, take care of the toi­let fa­cil­i­ties and also put sig­nages there for tourists. Our pres­i­dent re­cently vis­ited El­lora as well for a recce. Pa­pers are cur­rently be­ing signed to this ef­fect and I think by April 1, things should be clear,” he in­formed.

Ra­jiv Mehra Vice Pres­i­dent IATO

Pronab Sarkar Pres­i­dent IATO

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.