Dub stars shine at awards ban­quet

Fingal Independent - - SPORT - RORY KERR

MICK Bo­han’s all-con­quer­ing Dublin team dom­i­nated Satur­day’s 2018 TG4 an­nual All-star ban­quet as they col­lected seven se­nior awards on a night when cap­tain Sinead Ah­erne was con­firmed as the coun­try’s top player.

Named at cor­ner for­ward, the 32 year old ac­coun­tant was col­lect­ing her sev­enth all star while also claim­ing the TG4 Se­nior Play­ers’ Player of the Year award ahead of team-mate Lyns­dey Davey and Cork’s Ciara O’sul­li­van.

In­deed since re­turn­ing from her one year sab­bat­i­cal, the Sylvesters sharp shooter has been nom­i­nated on three suc­ces­sive oc­c­cas­sions where she had pre­vi­ously lost out to Brid Stack (Cork) in 2016 and Dublin’s Noelle Healy last year.

How­ever the Dublin cap­tain scored 1-7 in front of a record at­ten­dance of 50,141 at Croke Park as Dublin de­fended the Bren­dan Martin cup with vic­tory over Cork, and was al­ways go­ing to be a hot favourite in a sea­son that saw her reg­is­ter an im­pres­sive 5-31 in the cham­pi­onship.

How­ever, many will feel that Sk­er­ries Harps fire­fighter Lyn­d­sey Davey who picked up her fourth All star was slightly un­for­tu­nate to not to have claimed the ul­ti­mate ac­co­lade.

Davey joined the Dublin se­nior panel at the age of 14 in 2004 and would go on to win her first All star a year later. Now 28, Davey made a suc­cess­ful re­turn from in­jury in 2017 and has re-in­vented her­self as a rov­ing half for­ward which saw her claim two player of the match awards this sea­son with some ster­ling work in the mid­dle third.

Davey was one of seven Dublin play­ers to be hon­oured and the haul of seven was an all-time best on the All star team hav­ing pre­vi­ously col­lected six all stars on the 2010 and 2016 teams.

Mean­while Lau­ren Magee (daugh­ter of for­mer Dublin foot­baller, Johnny) picked up her first award for her dis­plays in mid­field. Else­where there was also recog­ni­tion for goal­keeper Ciara Trant and Noelle Healy who both sur­vive from last year’s 2017 se­lec­tion along side Ah­erne and Cork’s Emma Spil­lane.

And in a sea­son where Dublin col­lected the Di­vi­sion one ti­tle for the first time in their his­tory, both Sinead Goldrick and Siob­han Mcgrath were named in de­fence.

One per­son per­haps un­lucky not to come away with an award on the night was Carla Rowe fol­low­ing her two goal hero­ics in Septem­ber’s his­toric win over Cork.

How­ever the Naul for­ward’s ex­ploits did not go to­tally un­recog­nised when she was recog­nised by the Hot Press mag­a­zine as their sportswoman of the year.

All Star se­lec­tion: Ciara Trant (Dublin), Treasa Do­herty (Done­gal), Roisin Phe­lan (Cork), Sinead Burke (Gal­way), Sinead Goldrick (Dublin), Siob­han Mcgrath (Dublin), Emma Spil­lan (Cork), Neamh Woods (Ty­rone), Lau­ren Magee (Dublin), Ciara O’sul­li­van (Cork), Noelle Healy (Dublin), Lyn­d­sey Davey (Dublin), Sinead Ah­erne (Dublin), Doire­ann Sul­li­van (Cork), Sarah Houli­han (Kerry).

Sinéad Ah­erne of Dublin makes her way up to col­lect her Player of the Year award at the All-star ban­quet.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.