Evan tops the field in Elaine Le­hane run

Irish Examiner - County - - Sport - John Wal­she

A high-class women’s race marked the sec­ond edi­tion at the Elaine Le­hane Me­mo­rial 5km at Don­eraile Park with the top five fin­ish­ing in­side the first 10.

The race, in mem­ory of lo­cal Mal­low ath­lete Elaine Le­hane w i t h a l l p ro c e e d s g o i n g t o Mary­mount Hospice, saw a turnout of al­most 300 run­ners and walk­ers on a warm morn­ing.

Michelle Finn of Lee­vale, who ran the steeple­chase for Ire­land at the re­cent Euro­pean Cham­pi­onships, fin­ished sec­ond over­all in a time 17:48 with Martina Kiely (St Fin­barr’s) the run­ner-up in 18:34.

In third spot (18:58) was Orla Tuohy who has been based as a doc­tor in Southamp­ton for the past num­ber of years. The Grange-Fer­moy ath­lete won that city’s marathon back in April in 2:58:55 and two weeks ago was sec­ond in the Long­ford Marathon in 3:02:27.

Over­all win­ner of the race w a s E va n F i t z g e r a l d f r o m Clon­mel, son of former Ir­ish marathon cham­pion and Euro­pean Cham­pi­onship rep­re­sen­ta­tive John.

Mean­while, there was suc­cess for two Cork run­ners at Din­gle where Eoin Su­grue from Ban­teer won the marathon for the sixth time over the past seven years.

The 45-year-old cov­ered the dif­fi­cult course in 2:44:37 with John Meade from St Fin­barr’s win­ning the half-marathon in 74:37.

West Water­ford ath­lete Joe Gough showed that he is top form for this week’s World Masters Cham­pi­onships in Spain as the 65-year-old clocked an im­pres­sive time of 19:01 at the Bal­li­nameela 5km on Fri­day night. Sec­ond over­all i n t h e r a c e wa s K i e r a n McKe­own of the Water­grasshill club in 16:24.

Ted O’Leary from Conna, a mem­ber of West Water­ford AC, clocked a time of 19:26 be­fore head­ing off to Din­gle the fol­low­ing morn­ing where he added an­other marathon to his grow­ing list when fin­ish­ing 18th of the 550 fin­ish­ers in 3:20:21.

1 E Fitzger­ald (Clon­mel) 16:42; 2 M Finn (Lee­vale, F) 17:48; 3 L Mur­phy (Le Cheile) 18:04; 4 L Hever (North Cork) 18:25; 5 J Cal­lanan (Drom­a­hane) 18:32; 6 M Kiely (St Fin­barrs, F) 18:34; 7 T Carey (unatt) 18:47.

1 M Finn 17:48; 2 M Kiely 18:34; 3 O Tuohy 18:58; 4 A McDaid (unatt) 19:10.

Kieran McKe­own of Water­grasshill AC, sec­ond in the Bal­li­nameela 5km, re­ceiv­ing his prize from Matthew Fog­a­rty.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.