Time­line of new states join­ing the union

Irish Examiner - Supplement - - 60 YEARS OF EUROPEAN UNITY - [source: Euro­pean Par­lia­ment]

■ 1958: Bel­gium, France, Ger­many, Italy, Lux­em­bourg, Nether­lands. The orig­i­nal sig­na­to­ries of the 1957 Treaty of Rome.

■ 1973: Den­mark, the UK, Ire­land.

■ 1981: Greece joins.

■ 1986: Por­tu­gal, Spain: These en­large­ments also con­sol­i­dated democ­racy in these three coun­tries.

■ 1995: Aus­tria, Fin­land, Swe­den.

■ 2004: Cyprus, Czech Repub­lic, Es­to­nia, Hun­gary, Latvia, Lithua­nia, Malta, Poland, Slo­vakia, Slove­nia: Aimed at re­unit­ing the con­ti­nent af­ter the fall of the Ber­lin Wall and the col­lapse of the Soviet Union, this en­large­ment was launched by the Euro­pean Coun­cil meet­ing of De­cem­ber 1997. Ne­go­ti­a­tions were con­ducted sep­a­rately with each coun­try, based on a sin­gle ne­go­ti­at­ing frame­work.

■ 2007: Bul­garia, Ro­ma­nia: The pace of re­form in Bul­garia and Ro­ma­nia did not al­low them to join in 2004. A “co­op­er­a­tion and ver­ifi- cation mech­a­nism” in key ar­eas — ju­di­cial re­form, the f ight against cor­rup­tion and the fight against or­gan­ised crime (the lat­ter ap­ply­ing only to Bul­garia) — con­tin­ues mon­i­tor­ing progress af­ter ac­ces­sion.

■ 2013: Croa­tia: Ac­ces­sion talks with Croa­tia were sub­ject to the stricter con­di­tion­al­ity in­sti­tuted in De­cem­ber 2006 by Euro­pean Coun­cil’s “re­newed con­sen­sus on en­large­ment”.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.