The Argus - - SPORT -


FOUR­TEEN-HOLE sin­gles stable­ford played on De­cem­ber 22nd: Cat 1 win­ner Jack Phipps 32pts, Cat 2 win­ner Michael Ros­siter 31pts back 3, Cat 3 win­ner Gerry Far­rell 31pts.

Four­teen-hole sin­gles stable­ford played on De­cem­ber 23rd: Cat 1 win­ner Kieran Coyle 28pts, Cat 2 win­ner Wil­liam Gilse­nan 32pts, Cat 3 win­ner Jim Nulty 34pts.

Two-per­son scram­ble played on De­cem­ber 28th: 1st D Ker­ley & P Gol­log­ley 60pts, 2nd C McCle­naghan & G Car­roll 62pts, 3rd M Ros­siter & D Far­rell snr 63pts.

Four­teen-hole sin­gles stable­ford played on De­cem­ber 29th: Cat 1 win­ner Sean McAul­field 31pts, Cat 2 win­ner Frank Bradley 35pts, Cat 3 win­ner Ol­lie Samp­son 35pts.

Four­teen-hole sin­gles stable­ford played on De­cem­ber 30th: Cat 1 win­ner Gavin Daly 34pts, 2nd Kevin Com­mins jnr (-1) 33pts; Cat 2 win­ner Oran Durnin 38pts, 2nd Ro­nan Phipps (-1) 34pts; Cat 3 win­ner Fer­gus Gough 33pts, 2nd Ai­dan Hand 32pts.


NINE-HOLE com­pe­ti­tion played on De­cem­ber 30th: 1st Jac­inta Mul­doon 21pts, 2nd Ali­son Law­son 19pts.

Thir­teen-hole stable­ford played on De­cem­ber 19th: Class A - 1st Susan Cor­co­ran 29pts, 2nd Rita Black 27pts.


SUN­DAY’S Win­ter League 12hole com­pe­ti­tion: 1st Keith Gor­man 27pts, 2nd Rory Callaghan 27pts.

Sat­ur­day’s Win­ter League 12-hole com­pe­ti­tion: 1st Alan Over­ton 26pts, 2nd Adam Byrne 25pts.

De­cem­ber 30th Christ­mas Ham­per League 12-hole com­pe­ti­tion: 1st Martin Phe­lan 25pts, 2nd Robert McKenna 25pts.

De­cem­ber 29th Christ­mas Ham­per League 12-hole com­pe­ti­tion: 1st Paul Hoey 24pts, 2nd Kenny Moore 23pts.

Well done to Robert McKenna, who was the over­all win­ner of the Christ­mas Ham­per League, and to run­ner-up Martin Phe­lan.

Full mem­ber­ship is avail­able un­til Jan­uary 2020 for €599. WIN­NERS from Sun­day’s New Year’s Cheer sin­gles stable­ford front nine com­pe­ti­tion: Class 1 Paul Reilly (5) 23pts, Class 2 Cathal Kelly (18) 21pts ob3.

Sat­ur­day’s Win­ter League No 13, spon­sored by SSC Sports Surgery Clinic: Class 1 win­ner John Mur­phy (10) 67 ob9, 2nd Aaron Garvey (12) 67, Gross prize Ryan O’Do­herty 71; Class 2 win­ner Malachy Stringer (27) 66, 2nd Martin Tolan (17) 68, Gross prize Damien Walsh 83. SSS 72 (non-count­ing). Team - Paul Reilly (5-1), Noel Reilly (7), Tod O’Reilly (6) & Sean Walsh (14-1) 56. THE first com­pe­ti­tion of 2019 at­tracted a full timesheet, with 50 pair­ings tak­ing part in a Scotch Four­somes com­pe­ti­tion, and there was less than one shot be­tween the top three at the end.

The re­lent­less driz­zle cer­tainly didn’t ham­per Jim Burling­ham (28) and Pat Beirne (23) who blended per­fectly to win with a nett score of 47.2.

That was half-a-shot bet­ter than the ex­cel­lent 47.7 re­turned by 12-hand­i­cap­pers Pat Don­aghy and Mark Browne, while Conor McCaughey (6) and John McGeady (24) re­turned a score of 48.3 to fin­ish third.

The com­pe­ti­tion was the first played un­der the new rules of golf and mem­bers are re­minded that they can find out more in­for­ma­tion about the changes on the club web­site www.dun­dalk­golf­

The 2019 Rules of Golf has pro­vi­sion for a Lo­cal Rule which can give golfers re­lief from out of bounds with a two-stroke penalty in the area where the ball went out of bounds.

How­ever, the Golf­ing Union of Ire­land have ad­vised that this rule should not be in­tro­duced be­cause CONGU have de­cided that any event with this lo­cal rule in place will not be a qual­i­fy­ing com­pe­ti­tion for hand­i­cap pur­poses.

The GUI are con­cerned that hav­ing the rule in place in some com­pe­ti­tions and not in oth­ers will lead to con­fu­sion and re­sult in play­ers us­ing the in­cor­rect rule.

The Tour­na­ment Com­mit­tee have de­cided that this Lo­cal Rule will not be put in place at Dundalk Golf Club and Rule 18 will ap­ply.

Re­sult from Sun­day Jan­uary 6th Scotch Four­somes: 1st Jim Burling­ham (28) & Pat Beirne (23) 47.2; 2nd Pat Don­aghy (12) & Mark Browne (12) 47.7; 3rd Con­nor McCaughey (6) & John McGeady (24) 48.3. SUN­DAY’S voucher com­pe­ti­tion: 1st Jim Re­naghan (17) 32, 2nd Benny Talt (14) 32, 3rd Jim Hol­land (18) 32, 4th Martin McEneaney Jnr (14) 32.

Sat­ur­day’s voucher com­pe­ti­tion: 1st Miceal Byrnes (15) 34(35) 2nd Fearghal Mal­lon (12) 31.

Tues­day’s Open Gents com­pe­ti­tion: 1st Pat Cun­ning­ham (24) 39, 2nd Brian Keough (16) 38, Gross Ciaran McMahon (5) [Con­cra Wood Golf & Coun­try Club G.C.] 32, 3rd Kevin O’Hare 23) [War­ren­point G.C.] 38.

Voucher com­peti­tons con­tinue this Sat­ur­day and Sun­day.

Open Gents Sin­gles are on ev­ery Tues­day and the next Open Se­niors will be on Mon­day 28th. Timesheets are avail­able at www.greenore­golf­ or from our Pro Shop at 9373951.

We are avail­able for club­house func­tions for book­ings con­tact 9373212 ex 3 or Doreen at 0862333384. WE com­mence our 2019 sea­son this Sat­ur­day 12th Jan­uary with an 11-hole stable­ford com­pe­ti­tion. BRS opens for book­ing as usual on the Wed­nes­day prior at 7pm. Check win­ter con­di­tions of play in pro shop prior to tee off.

Mid­week 11-hole stable­ford com­pe­ti­tions com­mence Sun­day 13th Jan­uary and run Sun­day to Fri­day there­after. En­ter as usual in com­pe­ti­tion book in locker room. Check con­di­tions of play in pro shop prior to tee off. THE agm took place re­cently and the com­mit­tee elected were as fol­lows:

Pres­i­dent: Frank Greene; Chair­man: Paddy Bird; ViceChair: Ester An­drews; Trea­surer: Joe Gib­ney; Sec/Reg­is­trar: Ann Bird; Com­pe­ti­tion Sec­re­tary Ray McCormack/Paddy Bird; PRO: Paddy Bird.

Com­mit­tee mem­bers: Ol­lver Healy, Mark Fay, Kevin McGarr and Kath­leen O’Neill. Gents Cap­tain: Mark Fay; Lady Cap­tain Kath­leen O’Neill.

Our first com­pe­ti­tion of the year was held on Sun­day - a Scotch Four­somes - and it was won by Kevin McGarr and Paddy Bird.

Mem­ber­ship fees are now due for 2019 and we wel­come new mem­bers. SUN­DAY’S nine-hole stable­ford: 1st Frank Cur­ran (13) 23pts, 2nd Jim Corrigan (17) 22pts ocb, 3rd Kevin McCluskey (15) 22pts; Cat 1 Alan Mil­lar (5) 21pts ocb, Cat 2 Mark McLough­lin (13) 21pts ocb, Cat 3 Oliver Faulkner (21) 22pts.

Sat­ur­day’s nine-hole strokes com­pe­ti­tion: 1st Oliver Kelly (11) 30 nett, 2nd Jerry Rock (21) 31 nett; Cat 1 Noel Crilly (9) 32 nett ocb, Cat 2 Michael Pa­trick Reilly (12) 31 nett, Cat 3 Conor Webb (17) 32 nett. LAST week­end’s Spring Lamb nine-hole stable­ford: 1st Jean Fitz­patrick (31/16) 23pts, 2nd Mar­garet Burns (31/16) 22pts, 3rd Louise McFad­den (33/17) 21pts ocb.

Last Thurs­day’s Spring Lamb nine-hole stable­ford re­sult:

1st Marion McCon­non (31/16) 20pts, 2nd Clare McGlew (33/17) 19pts ocb, 3rd Miriam Ryan (20/10) 19pts. RE­SULTS from last week­end’s Club Four­ball v par com­pe­ti­tion were as fol­lows:

1st: Pat Greene & Bar­bara Mur­phy 16up; 2nd Pat Greene & Wendy Mary Mooney 14up (ob3 3up).

This week’s com­pe­ti­tion will be a Four­ball v par, with a draw for part­ners. Times of play will be Fri­day and Sat­ur­day at 1.30pm and Sun­day at 9.30am.

The Win­ter League en­try sheet is on the no­tice­board. Please get your teams up as soon as pos­si­ble as it starts on Fri­day week.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.