Avondhu Board hon­our 1961 se­nior hurlers and foot­ballers

The Corkman - - SPORT - By Pat Ryan

Avondhu GAA Board will hold their an­nual Man of the match func­tion on this Fri­day night in the Hiber­nian Ho­tel, Mal­low. This year a huge crowd is ex­pected as the Avondhu Se­nior foot­ballers that won the county SFC ti­tle in 1961 will be hon­oured.

The same year the Di­vi­sional se­nior hurlers reached the county fi­nal only to lose out to Black­rock. '61 was a very suc­cess­ful year for the Avondhu Divi­sion.

Mitchel­stown Ju­nior A foot­ballers, who pro­vided 12 play­ers to the Avondhu se­nior foot­ball panel, won the county JFC ti­tle beat­ing O'dono­van Rossa in the fi­nal. In Hurl­ing Kil­worth ju­niors reached the Co fi­nal where they lost to Cloyne af­ter a re­play. Also in 1961 Castle­town­roche reached to county IHC fi­nal where they were beaten by Glen Rovers af­ter a re­play.

In 1960 Avondhu se­nior foot­ballers were un­lucky to lose out to UCC in the county SFC fi­nal. The Di­vi­sional side won their only county SFC ti­tle in 1961 with a close 1-7 to 15 win over Clon­akilty at the Cork Ath­letic Grounds on Oc­to­ber l. The vic­tory came when a last minute Clon­akilty penalty struck the cross­bar. In the county semi fi­nal Avondhu beat St Finbarr's by 2-8 to 0-9. Noel Curley was the Avondhu cap­tain with Ned Cough­lan cap­tain­ing Cork mi­nor foot­ballers to their first All Ire­land MFC suc­cess in 1961.

Avondhu se­nior hurlers in 1961 beat the reign­ing Co cham­pi­ons Glen Rovers in the Co semi fi­nal by 5-11 to 4-7. They met Black­rock in the Co fi­nal at the Ath­letic Grounds on Sept 17 and were beaten by 4-10 to 3-7.

The An­nual Con­ven­tion had to be post­poned as it clashed with Mitchel­stown's county fi­nal with O'dono­van Rossa.

Jerry O'sul­li­van, Cork County Board chair­man, will be a spe­cial guest at Fri­day night's func­tion. It will be his last pub­lic func­tion be­fore re­tir­ing as county chair­man the fol­low­ing night.

The Di­vi­sional 'man of the match' awards will also be pre­sented from the four main fi­nals of 2011. Premier Ju­nior hurl­ing – James O'brien, (Charleville) Ju­nior A foot­ball – Shane Cahill (Mitchel­stown) Shree­lawn Oil JHC – Sean Beecher (Kil­worth) Ju­nior B FC(1) – Tom Ken­neally (Araglin).

Ref­er­ees of the var­i­ous league and cham­pi­onship fi­nals will also be pre­sented with their awards as well as a pre­sen­ta­tion to the Pri­mary Schools Board in recog­ni­tion of their great work in pro­mot­ing the games at Pri­mary Schools level.

2011 marked a suc­cess­ful year for the Di­vi­sional se­nior foot­ballers with the team reach­ing the county semi-fi­nal where they lost nar­rowly to even­tual cham­pi­ons UCC.

An­other im­por­tant func­tion of the Board at their an­nual so­cial is the pre­sen­ta­tion of the 'Hall of Fame' award. This year the award goes to well known Tommy Dunne (Kildorrery).

In his early days Tonny played Mi­nor hurl­ing with Old­castle­town in the early 50s and later played Novice with Far­rahy. He won a Novice Hurl­ing medal with Far­rahy in 1957. In 1949 Kildorrery club was re­formed and over the past 60 years he has given out­stand­ing ser­vice to Kildorrery and Far­rahy clubs. He played with Far­rahy up to 1961.

He served as a se­lec­tor for many years. He was the Board del­e­gate dur­ing the late Andy Scan­nell's time as Chair­man. He also at­tended Board meet­ings with the late Mick Han­non dur­ing Pat Kelle­her's time as Chair­man.

He was present at a North Cork Board meet­ing dur­ing Derry Gowen's time as Chair­man the night when Scor was in­tro­duced in 1971. He at­tended Ju­ve­nile Board meet­ings dur­ing John Dil­lon's time.

A great club­man and a de­serv­ing re­cip­i­ent of the 'Hall of Fame' award for 2011.

Cork county board chair­man Jerry O’sul­li­van

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.