Bal­ly­mac Matt wins Dog of the Year award for Liam Dowl­ing

The Kerryman (North Kerry) - - SPORT -

BAL­LY­MAC Matt, bred and trained by Liam Dowl­ing at his Bal­ly­ma­cel­lig­ott ken­nels, has been named Grey­hound of the Year at the Ir­ish Grey­hound Board’s an­nual awards hosted in Lim­er­ick Grey­hound Stadium last Satur­day. The event, which was spon­sored by Gal­way Crys­tal, was at­tended by ap­prox­i­mately 200 nom­i­nees and in­vited guests.

Dog of the Year: Bal­ly­mac Matt Own­ers: Bal­ly­mac-Kelly-and-the-lads Syn­di­cate Breeder: Liam Dowl­ing, Tralee, Co. Kerry Trainer: Liam Dowl­ing, Tralee, Co. Kerry

Bitch of the Year: Bal­ly­doyle Honey Owner: Ali­son Coxon, Roscom­mon Breeder: Larry Dunne, Dun­dalk, Co. Louth Trainer: Gra­ham Hol­land, Golden, Co. Tip­per­ary

Sprinter of the Year: Cather­ines Drico Owner: Liam, Sea­mus and Shea Camp­bell, Ar­magh Breed­ers: Thomas Mor­ris­sey, Tem­ple­more, Co. Tip­per­ary Trainer: Ron­nie McKe­own, Hills­bor­ough, Co. Down

Stayer of the Year: Tra­di­tion Owner/breeder: Pat Dal­ton, Golden, Co. Tip­per­ary Trainer: Pat Dal­ton, Golden, Co. Tip­per­ary

Brood Bitch of the Year: Kil­dal­lon Maid Owner: Larry Dunne, Dun­dalk, Co. Louth

Stud Dog of the Year: Kin­loch Brae Owner: Michael Dunne, Port­laoise, Co. Laois

Fu­ture Star: Droopys Rod­dick Owner: J M Proc­tor, Es­sex, UK Breeder: Sean Dun­phy, Port­law, Co. Water­ford Trainer: Pat Buck­ley, Cap­pawhite, Co. Tip­per­ary

PATSY Richard­son from Doon in Co. Lim­er­ick, a man with a strong his­tory of breed­ing cham­pion grey­hounds, was the 2015 in­ductee to the Hall of Fame. Among his on-track greats was Yanka Boy, win­ner of the Ir­ish St. Leger and Ir­ish Ce­sare­witch in 1967 and a win­ner of ‘Grey­hound of the Year’.

The Grey­hound Wel­fare Award, which was in­tro­duced last year, was awarded to GAIN Dog Food. This is the first time a com­pany has been hon­oured in th­ese awards, and the de­ci­sion was driven by their sup­port of events for re­tired grey­hounds. The com­pany was one of the founders of the Re­tired Grey­hound Shows in 2011, es­tab­lished to en­cour­age own­er­ship of grey­hounds as pets and high­light their docile na­ture.

The fi­nal award was pre­sented to the event MC, Michael For­tune, who re­ceived the Spe­cial Merit Award. Michael is well known as the voice of grey­hound rac­ing, and cur­rently re­ports on Ir­ish rac­ing in the Ir­ish In­de­pen­dent, the Rac­ing Post and on the IGB web­site at Talk­ing Dogs.

Act­ing Min­is­ter for State Tom Hayes presents the Supreme Grey­hound of the Year 2015 award to Kelly Macari, owner of Bal­ly­mac Matt, at the Na­tional Grey­hound Awards hosted in Lim­er­ick Grey­hound Stadium. Also pic­tured are Geral­dine Larkin, CEO IGB, Phil Meaney, Chair­man IGB, and Liam Dowl­ing, trainer of Bal­ly­mac Matt.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.