Quinn is best lo­cal fin­ish at Cir­cuit of Kerry rally

The Kerryman (North Kerry) - - SPORT - BY SEÁN MO­RI­ARTY

THIS year’s run­ning of the Cir­cuit of Kerry was a huge suc­cess for Kerry Mo­tor Club who at­tracted over 100 cars for its an­nual flag­ship event.

Run in new ter­ri­tory along the Din­gle Penin­sula this year, driv­ers for home and abroad praised the chal­leng­ing and tricky route that vis­ited places like the Short Moun­tain and Ca­her­con­ree.

Best of the lo­cal crews was Mike Quinn and Tony Buck­ley who steered their Ford Es­cort MK2 to 11th over­all. They won the James O’Rourke Memo­rial Tro­phy for the high­est place Kerry Mo­tor Club crew.

The en­joyed a day long bat­tle with Lies­sel­ton crew Tommy Ma­son and Conor Walsh but a com­ing to­gether witha wall on the Mi­nard Cas­tle stage caused enough de­lay to hand to lead to Quinn and Healy. Kevin Bar­rett and Sean Mul­laly sep­a­rated the two Es­cort crews by bring­ing their Subaru Im­preza World Rally Car home in 12th, one place be­hind Quinn and in front of Ma­son.

Co-driver Keith McCarthy, from Lix­naw was the top Kerry com­peti­tor, fin­ish­ing eighth over­all along­side Done­gal’s Stu­art Darcy de­spite be­ing trou­bled all day by an over­heat­ing en­gine in their Dar­rian T90 GTR.

Ed Mur­phy and Diarmuid Lynch from Agha­doe and Glen­flesk were 16th in another Es­cort. Kilflynn’s De­nis O’Con­nell guided Lim­er­ick driver Ed Sy­nan to 19th over­all de­spite a prob­lem the gear change in their Es­cort all day.

Other lo­cal fin­ish­ers in the hotly con­tested class 14 in­cluded Vin­cent O’Shea and Brian Hickey (Kenmare); Char­lie and Johnny Hickey (Kil­lar­ney) and Tim En­right and Stephen Buck­ley (Lix­naw).

The Killflynn / Lix­naw pair­ing of Tom Reli­han and Mau­rice McEl­lig­ott are the lead­ers of the newly formed Mo­ri­arty’s Cen­tra King­dom of Kerry Rally Cham­pi­onship af­ter a troube-free run in their Es­cort.

There were sev­eral fa­ther and daugh­ter crews in ac­tion in­clud­ing Tadhg O’Sul­li­van and Lianne O’Sul­li­van and Ja­son Costello/ Megan Costello , the lat­ter crew fin­ish­ing sec­ond in their class.

Other fin­ish­ers in­cluded Dar­ren Young / Pa Lawlor (Honda Civic, Tralee Sean En­right / Kevin Do­herty (Lis­towal Es­cort) Pat Barry / Kevin Ty­d­ings (Lis­sel­ton Es­cort); Sean Hickey/Noel Flem­ing (Kil­lar­ney Toy­ota Starlet) Ed­die Ken­nelly/Timmy Mur­phy (Lis­sel­ton Es­cort) John Hickey / Ea­mon Cree­don (Kil­lar­ney Es­cort), James Kis­sane / Tim Kis­sane (Kil­lar­ney Es­cort) Pa Naughton / John Cahill (Honda Civic).

Lo­cal crew Ed Mur­phy and Diarmuid Lynch who com­peted in the Cir­cuit Of Kerry Rally in their Ford Es­cort MK 2. They fin­ished 16th over all & 7th in classPhoto by Ray­mond Corkery

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.