Ris­ing stars on great­est team that never was

The Kerryman (South Kerry Edition) - - COMMUNITY NEWS -

THE great­est team that never was - drawn from the five clubs that con­tested this year’s West Kerry Foot­ball Championship – would be a for­mi­da­ble force if they ever went out on a pitch to­gether. Not that it’s likely to hap­pen in a cor­ner of the world where great foot­ball and great local ri­valry goes hand in hand.

The mem­bers of that great­est team – the ‘team of the championship’ – was an­nounced over the fes­tive sea­son in Quinn’s pub in Ven­try, where the foot­balling achieve­ments of the year in West Kerry were cel­e­brated and the star play­ers hon­oured.

Paul Quinn, who played with An Ghaeltacht from 1991 to 2010, or­gan­ised the se­lec­tion of the team of the championship to “recog­nise the ef­forts of play­ers af­ter a long sea­son” and it pro­duced a list of re­doubtable stal­warts along with younger play­ers who are can­di­dates for foot­ball star­dom in the green and gold of Kerry.

A spe­cial pre­sen­ta­tion was also made to Marc Ó Sé in recog­ni­tion of his out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tion to foot­ball, not just in his home club of An Ghaeltacht, but also in West Kerry, the county and the coun­try. Marc, who was in the role of pre­sen­ter of plaques on the night, spoke en­cour­ag­ingly about the stan­dard of foot­ball in West Kerry which, he said in a speech made in Ir­ish, was “im­prov­ing all the time”. He was im­pressed also with the spirit in which foot­ball is played lo­cally, de­scrib­ing the West Kerry Championship as “hard-hit­ting, tough stuff but when the game is over peo­ple get on with it and they are all good pals”.

“At the end of the day we’re all West Kerry men,” he said, ad­ding his com­pli­ments to the Dingle team that beat An Ghaeltacht in the championship semi fi­nal. “You have to win on your home patch and they did that de­spite be­ing ‘sáithe’ [ex­hausted] af­ter their county fi­nal match against Dr Crokes,” he said of the Dingle team that went on to win this year’s West Kerry ti­tle.

The team of the championship an­nounced in Quinn’s was: Tomás Mac an t-Saoir (An Ghaeltacht), Con Curry (An­nascaul), Cathal Ó Lúing (An Ghaeltacht), Pa­trick O’Con­nor (Dingle), Matthew Fla­herty (Dingle), Tom Seán O’Sul­li­van (Dingle), Gearóid Lyne (An­nascaul), Barry O’Sul­li­van (Dingle), Roibeard Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Ja­son Hick­son (An­nascaul), Mikey Geaney (Dingle), Cathal Fer­riter (An­nascaul), Tomás Sheehy (Dingle), Jimmy O’Grady (Castle­gre­gory), De­clan O’Sul­li­van (Lios Póil). Tomás Sheehy (Dingle) was named Se­nior Player of the Championship, while Gearóid Lyne (An­nascaul) was the Ju­nior Player of the Championship.

Photo by De­clan Malone

Gearóid Lyne, An­nascaul, who was named Ju­nior Player of the Championship and Tomás Sheehy, Dingle, who was named Se­nior Player of the Championship with Paul Quinn who was be­hind the idea of se­lect­ing a West Kerry Team of the Championship from the five com­pet­ing clubs in this year’s West Kerry Championship.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.