Cronin takes over as Coiste na nÓg chair­man

The Kerryman (Tralee Edition) - - SPORT - An­nual Gen­eral Meet­ing

KERRY Coiste na nÓg held its An­nual Gen­eral Meet­ing in the Rose Ho­tel last week when the main news was that Tommy Cronin, Fossa GAA, was an­nounced as the new Chair­per­son of Kerry Coiste na nÓg, and Glen­flesk Coiste na nÓg were an­nounced as Kerry Coiste na nÓg Club of the Year.

Tom Keane has served his five year term as chair­per­son of Kerry Coiste na nÓg. Tim Mur­phy an­nounced that Tommy Cronin of Fossa has ac­cepted the po­si­tion of Chair­per­son of Kerry Coiste na nÓg. Tim con­grat­u­lated Tommy on his ap­point­ment and knows that Tommy will bring great en­ergy and drive to the board. Tim also thanked Tom Keane on his great work at Coiste na nÓg level and said the high­light of Tom’s five years was the re­turn of Féile Peil na nÓg to Kerry in 2016.

Tommy Cronin ad­dressed the meet­ing and thanked Tim for the trust placed in him. Tommy said that he will work with the clubs to con­tinue the 51 years of fa­cil­i­tat­ing the games we love for our un­der­age play­ers.

Tom Keane, in his fi­nal duty as Chair­per­son an­nounced Glen­flesk as Kerry Coiste na nÓg. The club of the year is cho­sen for not only its per­for­mances on the field of play but its con­tri­bu­tion to Kerry Coiste na nÓg through pro­vi­sion of ref­er­ees, dis­ci­pline, pro­vi­sion of fa­cil­i­ties for fi­nals and con­tri­bu­tion to the day to day run­ning of Coiste na nÓg. James Fur­long, Chair­per­son of Glen­flesk Coiste na nÓg and Diana O’Leary Sec­re­tary of Glen­flesk Coiste na nÓg ac­cepted the award and thanked Kerry Coiste na nÓg for the recog­ni­tion of their ef­forts in 2018. James spoke of the hon­our in ac­cept­ing the award on be­half of his club. James said that the award means more to them be­cause it is not just awarded for win­ning on the field of play.

James said that they mea­sure suc­cess within Glen­flesk Coiste na nÓg on the re­ten­tion of play­ers and this has fed to a great at­mos­phere of ‘Meit­eal’ within the clubs, the fruits of which are seen in the award. James thanked all in­volved in Glen­flesk GAA, Glen­flesk Coiste na nÓg and es­pe­cially the play­ers for their ef­forts in 2018

Var­i­ous re­ports were pre­sented to the del­e­gates out­lin­ing the fa­cil­i­tat­ing of over 1100 games played in Kerry Coiste na nÓg be­tween Hurl­ing and Foot­ball. Jerry Dwyer and John O’Sul­li­van of Lee Strand were thanked for their con­tin­ued sup­port of Kerry Coiste na nÓg in 2018.

As well as Tom Keane stand­ing down af­ter his five year term, Mary Jo Cof­fey also va­cated the reg­is­ter po­si­tion to be re­placed by Kieran Cof­fey of Fossa. Jimmy O’Sul­li­van D’Arcy has va­cated the role of As­sis­tant PRO and the po­si­tion has not been filled. All the speak­ers were ap­pre­cia­tive of the out­stand­ing work done by Tom, Mary Jo and Jimmy dur­ing their terms of of­fices. All in the clubs and Kerry Coiste na nÓg wish to thanks Tom, Mary Jo and Jimmy for their out­stand­ing ser­vice over their terms of of­fice.

In­com­ing com­mitte of the Cosite na nOg 2018 Front, l-r: Mike Hussey, Mags Evans, Tom Keane (out­go­ing chair­man), Tim Mur­phy (Chair­man KCB),Tommy Cronin, Siob­han O’Ma­hony and Gary Mur­phy. Back, l-r: Billy Brod­er­ick, Damian McCoy, Kieran Cof­fey, Ger Lynch, Ger Hussey, Ger Han­i­fin, Mar­tin Sheehy and Tim Weir.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.