Bour­bon Bar win Rovers Open Cup

The Sligo Champion - - SPORT -

THE Bour­bon Bar claimed the Sligo Rovers Open Cup on Wed­nes­day last, af­ter over­see­ing the chal­lenge of GSS 2-1. Both sides had en­joyed a solid league cam­paign lead­ing up to the de­cider, with both qual­i­fy­ing for Premier Di­vi­sion foot­ball this sea­son. Spec­ta­tors knew the cup fi­nal would be close, with very lit­tle between the sides. As ex­pected, the open­ing pe­riod of the game proved fran­tic, as both sides pressed each other on the ball which re­sulted in very lit­tle open­ings. Ten min­utes into the game, GSS struck with the first shot on tar­get which flew past Ciaran Carty in the Bour­bon goal. It re­sulted from a long ball played up to striker Mick Kelly who un­leashed an ef­fort on the half vol­ley which flew into the back of the net, to the de­light of his team­mates. From then, the Bour­bon Bar be­gan to boss pos­ses­sion in the mid­dle of the park but failed to cap­i­talise in the fi­nal third. For all their pos­ses­sion, they went in 1-0 down at the break. Twenty min­utes from full time, af­ter some good work from Jamie McGoldrick the Bour­bon Bar equalised thanks to Martin Bys­tri­an­sky af­ter the ball some­how came to his feet through the legs of Terry Farrelly and Bys­tri­an­sky rif­fled the ball into the back of the net to make it 1-1. Just when it seemed that a penalty shoot-out was loom­ing to de­cide the des­ti­na­tion of the 2018 Open Cup, ref­eree Tommy Oates ad­judged GSS cen­tre half Derek Healy to have tripped a Bour­bon player in the box which re­sulted in a penalty be­ing awarded. Up stepped Ian Col­burn who calmly slot­ted the ball home to se­cure the 2018 Sligo Rovers Open Cup for his side. Pre­sen­ta­tions were made at full time to both sides, with the win­ning tro­phy pre­sented to the Bour­bon Bars squad. Sligo Rovers would like to con­grat­u­late the Bour­bon Bar and their man­agers Gra­ham Caw­ley & Gerry Fahy on their achieve­ment, and send com­mis­er­a­tions to GSS who failed to re­gain their cup from 2017.

Bour­bon Bar 2018 Sligo Rovers Cup Champions.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.