GAA Con­ven­tion tak­ing place on De­cem­ber 12th

The Sligo Champion - - SPORT - BY EMMA GAL­LAGHER

THE Sligo GAA an­nual Con­ven­tion is tak­ing place on Wed­nes­day De­cem­ber 12th in the Radis­son Blu ho­tel.

There are a num­ber of po­si­tions up for nom­i­na­tion as of­fi­cers have com­peted their 5 year term.

Chair­per­son Joe Taaffe has served his 5 years and there are 2 names nom­i­nated to be his suc­ces­sor, cur­rent Vice-Chair­man Bren­dan Leonard and for­mer sec­re­tary Gerry O’Con­nor are the 2 nom­i­na­tions for that role.

De­clan Rouse is the sole name seek­ing nom­i­na­tion to the po­si­tion of Vice-Chair­per­son.

Bernardine McGau­ran is set to con­tinue in her role as sec­re­tary hav­ing taken up the po­si­tion last year, as will As­sis­tant Sec­re­tary, Sean Car­roll.

Peter Greene will also re­main as Trea­surer.

Joe Taaffe and Johnny Wat­ters are in the mix for the As­sis­tant Trea­surer po­si­tion which is cur­rently held by Fran­cis Gal­lagher.

The high­est num­ber of nom­i­na­tions is for the role of PRO. Gavin Caw­ley has been in that po­si­tion and has com­pleted his 5 year term. The names seek­ing nom­i­na­tion are Bart Bar­rins, Ea­monn McMunn, Tim Hynes and Keith Henry.

John McPart­land and Gerry Quinn are the 2 names put for­ward for the role of Coach­ing Of­fi­cer, which is cur­rently held by John McPart­land.

The Ir­ish Cul­tural & Lan­guage Of­fi­cer po­si­tion will also see a new face come on board as Keith Henry has also com­pleted his 5 year term.

There is one name nom­i­nated, Der­mot Gan­non for the po­si­tion.

The po­si­tion of Chil­dren’s Of­fi­cer, cur­rently held by Ea­monn Mullen will be nom­i­nated by the out­go­ing County Board.

Richard Bren­nan is set to con­tinue as De­vel­op­ment Of­fi­cer, while John Ni­land, John Ley­den and Gerry O’Con­nor are the nom­i­nees for the Con­nacht Coun­cil rep­re­sen­ta­tives, which has 2 places for that role.

John Mur­phy is set to con­tinue as the Rep­re­sen­ta­tive to Ard Comhairle.

Ea­monn Mullen has been nom­i­nated for Rep­re­sen­ta­tives to Con­nachth Con­ven­tion, along­side the Chair­man and Sec­re­tary while he has also been nom­i­nated along with Joe Brady as Rep­re­sen­ta­tives to Na­tional Congress, once again along­side the Chair­man and Sec­re­tary.

The an­nual Con­ven­tion is ex­pected to com­mence at 8pm on Wed­nes­day, De­cem­ber 12th in the


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.