The Sligo Champion - - SPORT - BY BRIAN MAR­REN


SEAN Hes­lin and Tom Kear­ney have de­vel­oped a vir­tual monopoly on 1st and 2nd place in the men’s com­pe­ti­tions re­cently and so it proved again on Sun­day.

In this week’s 18 hole com­pe­ti­tion, they both had 40 points, with Sean just shad­ing it on count­back. Paul Con­nolly came 3rd with 37 points and Patrick Egan had the best gross score. Next Sun­day’s com­pe­ti­tion is another 18 hole stable­ford with the clubs’ Christ­mas Bo­nanza com­pe­ti­tion tak­ing place on the fol­low­ing Sun­day, the 16th of De­cem­ber. This is a very so­cial event and is much looked for­ward to ev­ery year - partly be­cause ev­ery par­tic­i­pant gets a prize! So if you haven’t had the joy of walk­ing up to re­ceive a prize in 2018, this might be your last chance (even if it is only a se­lec­tion box).

The over­all club AGM was held in the club­house on Sun­day the 2nd with the fol­low­ing elected as of­fi­cers for the man­age­ment com­mit­tee for 2019. Chair­man (and men’s cap­tain) - Sea­mus Gal­lagher, Hon­orary Trea­surer - Paul Con­nolly, Greens’ Con­venor - Wil­lie Tiernan, Ju­nior Con­venor - Bren­dan Gaffney, House Con­venor - Vin­cent Egan, Chil­drens Li­ai­son Of­fi­cer - Jim Mooney. A num­ber of of­fi­cers of the men’s and ladies’ com­mit­tees are au­to­mat­i­cally ap­pointed to the man­age­ment com­mit­tee in­clud­ing the out­go­ing men’s and ladies cap­tains, Terry Can­ning and Marie Han­more-Caw­ley, the in­com­ing lady cap­tain, Regina McLough­lin and the men’s and ladies com­pe­ti­tions sec­re­taries, Lor­can Egan and Mary O’Hara. The fol­low­ing will serve as or­di­nary man­age­ment com­mit­tee mem­bers - Patrick Egan, Jonathan Egan, Sean Hes­lin ( also men’s pres­i­dent) , Liam Mullaney, Gerry O’Hara, Michael Si­mon, Su­san O’Mahoney, Liz Dwyer and Mandy Toolan.



AL­LIANCE Cap­tains He­len and Molly warmly in­vite you to their Christ­mas Spe­cial Al­liance on Satur­day De­cem­ber 15th.Tee­time from 11-12. El­iz­a­beth Mul­downey and Dolores Mul­vey took the hon­ours in the last two fix­tures. Geral­dine Con­lon took the win­ners podium in the Be­gin­ners com­pe­ti­tion. CHRIST­MAS PARTY:

OUR Christ­mas Party is also on Satur­day De­cem­ber 15th at 7pm( ticket only event). Tick­ets €35 in­cludes: Pros­ecco Re­cep­tion, 3 Course Meal with Wine and en­try into the Re­verse Draw with a top prize of €500!! Tick­ets avail­able now from John on 085 7726763. THE Golf Union of Ire­land re­cently re­leased its fix­tures sched­ule for the 2019 sea­son, with some dates that catch the eye from a Sligo per­spec­tive.

Up first for Sligo is the an­nual West of Ire­land Open Cham­pi­onship, which as al­ways will be held in Rosses Point on the first week­end of April, be­tween the 4th and the 7th.

A tour­na­ment that counts play­ers such as Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry and Padraig Har­ring­ton as for­mer win­ners is one of the high­lights of the Ir­ish Golf Cal­en­dar and is cer­tainly a date to keep in the di­ary. The Cham­pi­onships changes to stroke play as a one­off for 2019.

The un­doubted high­light of the year from a Sligo per­spec­tive is the re­turn of The Flo­gas Ir­ish Am­a­teur Open to Rosses Point Golf club for the first time since 1950. The premier com­pe­ti­tion for am­a­teurs na­tion­wide, Co Sligo is de­lighted to host such a pres­ti­gious event, which will be on from the 16th to the 19th of May which will be huge for lo­cal busi­ness. Royal County Down was the venue last year.

Else­where on the fix­tures, the late Fred Perry, past Pres­i­dent of the Golf Union of Ire­land, will be re­mem­bered with the in­au­gu­ral All-Ire­land Se­niors In­ter-Club com­pe­ti­tion. The All-Ire­land fi­nals of the Fred Perry Tro­phy, an In­tra-Club four balls com­pe­ti­tion,will be held in Co Sligo, the Boyle man’s home club, where he served the Con­nacht Branch with dis­tinc­tion for 42 years on the West of Ire­land Cham­pi­onship Com­mit­tee. The com­pe­ti­tion is open to only those 55 or over. Other Notable com­pe­ti­tions in­clude The AIG Am­a­teur Close Cham­pi­onships this year in Bally­bunion, and the Dubai Duty Free Ir­ish Open, this year held in Lahinch in County Clare.

Congratulations to Anita Carty on win­ning Cas­tle Dar­gan Golfer of the Year 2018. Anita is also the win­ner of their club match­play com­pe­ti­tion Queen of the Cas­tle. This is a great achieve­ment and well de­served as she played won­der­ful golf through­out the year. The club wishes Anita con­tin­ued good golf go­ing for­ward. Fur­ther congratulations go to Medal Win­ners, Pauline Len­non win­ning Sil­ver and Anita (once again) win­ning Bronze. Cas­tle Dar­gan ladies wish Pauline and Anita ev­ery suc­cess as they go on to rep­re­sent our club in The ILGU Na­tional Medal Fi­nals in 2019. Anita be­ing pre­sented with her prizes by Lady Cap­tain Bri­die Henry.

Sean Flanagan (Co. Sligo) on the 9th tee dur­ing Match Play Round 3 of the West of Ire­land Am­a­teur Open Cham­pi­onship at the Co. Sligo Golf Club in Rosses Point. Pic: Golf­file / Thos Caf­frey.

2nd Over­all: Lee McLaugh­lin and Niall Burns with An­drew Mullen (Sligo Pal­lets). Pic: James Burke.

3rd Over­all: David Leonard and Ciaran Geaney with An­drew Mullen (Sligo Pal­lets). Pic: James Burke.

In­com­ing Vice Cap­tain of Car­rick-on-Shan­non Gabriel Mad­sen is pre­sented with the Gar­vey Cup by Lady Cap­tain Phil Em­met at Car­rick on Shan­non Golf Club end of year pre­sen­ta­tions.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.