Tal­bot, Cul­leton’s, Porter House and the Sky take top hon­ours


THE 66th an­nual Guin­ness Singing and Swing­ing Pubs com­pe­ti­tion drew to a close at mid­night last Thurs­day when ad­ju­di­ca­tor Ray Collins abided by tra­di­tion and posted the re­sults on a tele­vi­sion screen in the win­dow of Macken’s pub in The Bull­ring.

It was the cul­mi­na­tion of 10 nights of crack­ing en­ter­tain­ment in 26 li­censed premises and an air of ex­cite­ment sur­rounded the an­nounce­ment with con­tes­tants gath­er­ing out­doors to learn the names of the win­ners.

The Singing sec­tion was won by the Tal­bot Ho­tel which also cap­tured the same ti­tle last year while Cul­leton’s Bar, 2017 won the Swing­ing Sec­tion for the fourth year in a row with Paul Ros­siter win­ning Best Male singer in that cat­e­gory for the sev­enth con­sec­u­tive year.

The Porter House in Castle­bridge won the Va­ri­ety Sec­tion for the fourth year run­ning while the Sky and the Ground was voted best in the Tra­di­tional Sec­tion this year.

The full re­sults are as fol­lows: SINGING SEC­TION

1st, Tal­bot Ho­tel, ;2nd, The Mock­ing Monck,3rd Browne’s of Bish­op­swa­ter; Si­mon Lam­bert Award for Best Male: Alan Reck (Tal­bot Ho­tel Wex­ford) Nom­i­nee: Paul Darcy (The Mock­ing Monck); Nom­i­nee: An­drew Berry (Browne’s of Bish­op­swa­ter) Best Fe­male: He­lena Bradley Bates (Tal­bot Ho­tel Wex­ford) Nom­i­nee: Becky Grey (Sin­nott’s Bar) Nom­i­nee: Danielle Ma­her (The Mock­ing Monck)


1st: Cul­leton’s 2nd: Merry Elf 3rd: The Fer­rycar­rig Ho­tel; Best Male: Paul Ros­siter (Cul­leton’s) Nom­i­nee: Hamish Stu­art (Merry Elf) Nom­i­nee: David O’Far­rell (The Sail­ing Cot) Best Fe­male: Martina Keane (Merry Elf) Nom­i­nee: Amy Shin­nors (The Fer­rycar­rig Ho­tel) Nom­i­nee: Laura Roche (Cul­leton’s)


1st : The Porter House 2nd: The Wex­ford Arms, 3rd: Gaynor’s Bar. Fer­gie Ke­hoe Cup for Best Male: Patrick Doyle (The Porter House) Nom­i­nee: Steve

Mar­tin (Gaynor’s Bar) Nom­i­nee: John Mo­ran (The Wex­ford Arms Pub) Best Fe­male: Julie Dwyer (The Wex­ford Arms Pub) Nom­i­nee: Jo­hanna Hearne (The Porter House) Nom­i­nee: Jes­sica Mar­tin (Gaynor’s Bar)


1st, Ger Gaynor Cup: The Sky & The Ground 2nd: The Farmer’s

Kitchen Ho­tel; 3rd Place: Ri­leys Tav­ern. Best Male: Wil­lie Car­ley (The Sky & The Ground)

Nom­i­nee: Stu­art Burns (Ri­leys Tav­ern);Nom­i­nee: Shane Dun­phy (The Sky & The Ground) Best Fe­male: Sharon Clancy (The Farmer’s Kitchen Ho­tel) Nom­i­nee: June Roche (The John Barry) Nom­i­nee: Grace Shee­han (Ri­leys Tav­ern)


The Michael Ros­siter Best Group Award: Cul­leton’s Nom­i­nee: The Scream­ing Geese (The Porter House) Nom­i­nee: The Cozmics (The Sail­ing Cot)

The Joss Kielty Best in­stru­men­tal­ist award: James O’Sul­li­van (Merry Elf) Nom­i­nee: Alice Wick­ham (Kelly’s on The Cor­ner) Nom­i­nee: Tony Ryan (The Fer­rycar­rig Ho­tel)

The Nan Cul­limore Best Se­nior Ci­ti­zen Award: Amigo Byrne (McGee’s Bar) Nom­i­nee: Tony Beale (The Wex­ford Arms Bar)

Nom­i­nee: Tommy Byrne (McGee’s Bar) Best Mu­si­cian: Paddy Davitt (Cul­leton’s) Nom­i­nee: Fran Scat­ter­good (The John Barry)

Nom­i­nee: Micheal O’Dub­hghaill (The Tal­bot Ho­tel Wex­ford) The Shem Berry Best Tra­di­tional Act Award: Ciara & Shauna (Ri­leys Best Orig­i­nal Act: Imelda Ke­hoe (Merry Elf ) Nom­i­nee: Joe Keel­ing (Macken’s) Nom­i­nee: John Cullen (The Pike Bar)

Best Comic Act: Ken­neth Hearne (The Porter House) Nom­i­nee: Mar­tin O’Dowd (The Wex­ford Arms Bar) Nom­i­nee: Donal Doyle (The Farmer’s Kitchen Ho­tel)

The Jimmy Bar­ron Best Un­ac­com­pa­nied Act: Kevin McDer­mott (The Sky & The Ground) Best Mas­ter of Cer­e­monies: John Mur­phy (McGee’s Bar) Nom­i­nee: Mick D’Arcy (Mary’s Bar) Nom­i­nee: Noel Quirke (The Pike Bar)

The Tony O’Neill Best dec­o­rated Pub: Merry Elf 2nd: The Farmer’s Kitchen Ho­tel 3rd: Cul­leton’s Best Bar Per­son: Sarah Mur­phy (Sin­nott’s Bar).

Nom­i­nee: Jenny Werner (Tal­bot Ho­tel Wex­ford) Nom­i­nee: Jimmy Kelly (The Sail­ing Cot) Best Pro­gramme: Sin­nott’s Bar Best Au­di­ence Par­tic­i­pa­tion Award: Cul­leton’s

The Con Red­mond Out­stand­ing Per­for­mance Award: Sarah Jane Reck (Tal­bot Ho­tel Wex­ford) Ad­ju­di­ca­tors Awards: (a) Hop­per McGrath (The Sail­ing Cot) (b) Jes­sica Walker (The Pike Bar) Spe­cial Guin­ness Mid Strength Awards: (a) Kelly’s on The Cor­ner (b) Billy Kelly’s (c) Bu­gler Doyle’s

The Guin­ness Golden Harp Award: Caro­line Daly Jones (The Swan Bar).

Win­ners of the Singing Pub sec­tion, the Tal­bot Ho­tel, are pre­sented with their prizes.

Ad­ju­di­ca­tor Ray Collins singing Some­where Over The Rain­bow at the Singing Pubs in the Farmer’s Kitchen.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.