Seana Ghael awards on Sun­day

Wexford People - - SPORT -

IT’S AL­WAYS nice to be re­mem­bered, and no­body does that bet­ter than the Coiste na Seana Ghael com­mit­tee.

This group was es­tab­lished in 1982 with a view to hon­our­ing past G.A.A. play­ers and of­fi­cials with a small to­ken of ap­pre­ci­a­tion for their ef­forts, and it has grown to such an ex­tent that the Wex­ford model has been copied in coun­ties all over Ire­land.

The lat­est an­nual event will take place in the Fer­rycar­rig Ho­tel next Sun­day af­ter­noon from 2 p.m., with an­other 63 wor­thy re­cip­i­ents set to re­ceive com­mem­o­ra­tive scrolls which have been com­piled by one of the chief or­gan­is­ers, P.J. Daly.

As ever, there’s a wide mix of clubs rep­re­sented from the four Dis­tricts, and pre­vi­ous award win­ners are re­minded that they’re more than wel­come to at­tend and meet up with old friends, team-mates and op­po­nents to re­call the many high­lights of the past.

The gen­eral cri­te­ria is that re­cip­i­ents are over 70 years of age and have given a life­long com­mit­ment to their club and the G.A.A. in gen­eral.

This year a new ad­di­tion to the scheme will see Gaels who have passed the 90 mark get­ting a spe­cial award, and there’s an ideal can­di­date to set the ball rolling in Wex­ford’s won­der­ful hurl­ing goal­keeper of the 1950s, Art Fo­ley, who has been based in the United States for many years.

As ever, the full list of those to be hon­oured reads like a who’s who of G.A.A. in the county, and it’s no sur­prise that there’s a num­ber of links with the his­toric year of 1968.

One of the stand-out names in the line-up is Wex­ford’s stylish young mid­fielder from that glorious hurl­ing tri­umph, Dave Bernie from Ferns St. Ai­dan’s, and he will be joined by Adamstown’s Jimmy Fur­long who was a sub­sti­tute on the vic­to­ri­ous team.

One rep­re­sen­ta­tive from camo­gie and hand­ball fea­tures in the Seana Ghael se­lec­tions on a yearly ba­sis, and this time around the re­cip­i­ents were also part of those won­der­ful Wex­ford wins in 1968: Brigid Doyle and Joe Howlin.

Long-serv­ing ex-T.D. and Rap­pa­rees-Starlights driv­ing force John Browne will also re­ceive a scroll, along with for­mer Co. Chair­man Tony Dempsey who has also been ac­tively in­volved in po­lit­i­cal cir­cles for many years.

Many mem­bers of An Garda Síochána who have served in Wex­ford over the years have been se­lected in the past, and this time around the list in­cludes Tom Byrne, for­merly of Starlights, St. Ai­dan’s (En­nis­cor­thy) and HWH-Bun­clody, and Michael Hy­land who was a top goal­keeper with Ferns St. Ai­dan’s and Mon­ageer-Boolavogue.

Wil­lie O’Neill from Kil­more, cap­tain of the All-Ire­land winning Wex­ford Un­der-21 hurl­ing team of 1965, has been cho­sen for an award along with Rath­nure’s Pat Quigley who was one of his col­leagues on that vic­to­ri­ous team.

That is a mere sam­ple of the names on the list, which also in­cludes: Thomp­son and Cyril Byrne (Castle­town-Liam Mellows); Jimmy Carr (Shel­maliers); Vin­cent Codd (Moun­tain Slash­ers); Jim Fo­ley (Faythe Har­ri­ers); Nick Hayes (Our Lady’s Is­land); Billy Howlin (Sars­fields); Tommy Hynes (Vol­un­teers); Paddy Ke­hoe (Fr. Mur­phy’s, Dublin); Tom Ke­hoe (Na Fianna); Ger­ald Kelly (Tagh­mon-Cam­ross); Peter Moore (Ra­heen­duff Moon­lighters); Wil­lie Doyle (HWH-Bun­clody); Ge­orge Donovan (Glynn-Barn­town); Con Don­nelly (Clongeen); Tom Cum­mins (Horeswood); Wil­lie Cullen (Ou­lart-The Bal­lagh); De­nis Cough­lan (Sham­rocks); An­thony Cos­grave (Bal­ly­gar­rett); Char­lie Christo­pher (St. Martin’s, Ferns); John Byrne (Craan­ford); Richie But­ler (St. James’); Pierie But­ler (Buf­fers Al­ley); Barry Burke (St. Mary’s, Ross­lare); Nicky Broad­ers (St. Martin’s); Jim Bren­nan (Rath­garogue-Cushin­stown); Joe Breen (Tara Rocks); Ge­orge Blackburn (Mon­ageer-Boolavogue and St. Mary’s, En­nis­cor­thy); Tony Ber­ney (Bal­ly­hogue); John Ben­nett (Ban­now-Bal­lymitty); Patsy Far­rell (Gusser­ane); Jimmy Fur­long (Bal­ly­fad); Char­lie Gor­don (Cross­abeg-Bal­ly­murn); Johnny Ham­mond (Dan O’Con­nell’s); Michael Healy (Young Ire­land’s); Mick Hig­gins (Ki­lanerin); De­nis How­ell (St. Pa­trick’s); Joe Kee­gan (Gorey Blues, Gorey Wolfe Tones and Naomh Eanna); Barty Kennedy (Clough­bawn); Ned Kir­wan (Clonee and St. Columba’s, Bal­ly­duff); Fonzo Ma­hon (Clonard); Matty Mer­nagh (Duf­fry Rovers); Mike Nolan (St. Mary’s, Maudlin­town); Peter O’Dwyer (Geral­dine O’Han­ra­hans); Tom O’Leary (Black­wa­ter); John Quirke (Oyle­gate-Glen­brien); Jim Roche (Mar­shal­stown); Pat Ros­siter (St. Fin­tan’s); Tom Ros­siter (St. Joseph’s and Faythe Har­ri­ers); Thos. Ryan (St. Anne’s); John Tobin (Askamore-Kil­rush); Tom Tweedy (St. Mogue’s, Fethard).

Hun­dreds of ex-play­ers and ad­min­is­tra­tors have been hon­oured to re­ceive a Seana Ghael award since its start from hum­ble be­gin­nings at the first func­tion in Mur­phy-Flood’s Ho­tel in En­nis­cor­thy in 1982, and the lat­est batch of re­cip­i­ents will be no ex­cep­tion. The on­go­ing work of the com­mit­tee is to be com­mended.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.