Ash­ley Wynne is cham­pi­onship win­ner for 19 years in a row

Wicklow People (Arklow) - - NEWS - By MYLES BUCHANAN

THE Sin­nott Skoda Se­nior Club Cham­pi­onships con­cluded last Satur­day at Wick­low Ten­nis Club with 13 fi­nals held in glo­ri­ous sun­shine.

Sup­port­ers en­joyed a fan­tas­tic day of ten­nis and fab­u­lous food from the BBQ as the tour­na­ment wrapped up.

Reign­ing Ladies Cham­pion Ash­ley Wynne se­cured her 19 th win in a row and was com­mended for man­ag­ing to hold on to the ti­tle for so long. Peter Fin­negan, the Men’s Sin­gles Cham­pion, won his sixth ti­tle in a row in an­other re­mark­able achieve­ment.

Club Cap­tain Jean Baker ex­tended sin­cere thanks to John Sin­nott of Sin­nott Skoda for his and his brother Paul’s con­tin­ued sup­port in spon­sor­ing this event and also thanked ev­ery­one who helped be­hind the scenes, in par­tic­u­lar, Ai­dan Mor­ris­sey who looked af­ter the schedul­ing of all the matches and en­sured ev­ery­one was ac­com­mo­dated. Re­sults: Ladies Sin­gles Cham­pion: Ash­ley Wynne, run­ner-up Alexandra Pick­er­ill. Men’s Sin­gles Cham­pion: Peter Fin­negan, run­ner-up Conor Sex­ton. Ladies Dou­bles Cham­pi­ons: Ash­ley Wynne and Alexandra Pick­er­ill, run­ners-up Jean Baker and Grace Fitzsi­mons. Men’s Dou­bles Cham­pi­ons: Peter Fin­negan and Conor Rut­tledge, run­ners-up Daniel and Sean Far­rell. Mixed Dou­bles Cham­pi­ons: Ash­ley Wynne and David Pick­er­ill, run­ners-up Grace Fitzsi­mons and Peter Fin­negan. Over 35’s Cham­pi­ons: Jean Baker and Si­mon Kelly, run­ners-up Grace Fitzsi­mons and Ben Mullen. Ladies B Sin­gles Win­ner: Naoise Gal­lagher, run­ner-up Áine Tee­van. Men’s B Sin­gles Win­ner: Sean Gar­land, run­ner-up Ian Britch­field. Ladies B Dou­bles Win­ners: Naoise Gal­lagher and Áine Tee­van, run­ners-up Anita Boy­lan and Ciara Ka­vanagh. Men’s B Dou­bles Win­ners: Sean Far­rell and Dy­lan Frazer, run­ners-up Robert Earls and Damien Flood. Mixed B Dou­bles Win­ners: Naoise Gal­lagher and Sean Gar­land, run­ners-up Ciara Ka­vanagh and Rory Fahey. Ladies C Sin­gles Win­ner: Aileen Tar­rant, run­ner-up Olga Glynn, Ladies C Dou­bles Win­ners: Aileen and Ni­amh Tar­rant, run­ners-up Olga Glynn and Del­wyn Ger­aghty, Men’s C Dou­bles Win­ners: Peter Hutt and Ken Quinn, run­ners-up Chris Evans and Ruan McGlough­lin, Mixed C Dou­bles Win­ners: Va­le­ria de los San­tos and Gerry But­ler, run­ners-up Karen O’Sul­li­van and Ai­dan Mor­ris­sey.

Ladies Sin­gles fi­nal­ists Alexandra Pick­er­ill (run­ner-up) and Ash­ley Wynne – cham­pion for the 19th year in a row – with spon­sor John Sin­nott, cap­tain Jean Baker and pres­i­dent Robert Earls.

Men’s Dou­bles Fi­nal - run­ners Up Sean and Daniel Far­rell (back) con­grat­u­lat­ing the cham­pi­ons Conor Rut­tledge and Peter Fin­negan.

2018 Ladies Sin­gles Run­ner Up Alexandra Pick­er­ill.

Ju­nior mem­ber and ball­boy Col­clough Byrne in ac­tion.

Men’s Sin­gles Cham­pion Peter Fin­negan.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.