Grey­stones driver in run­ning for award

Wicklow People (West Edition) - - SPORT -

A Le Mans se­ries driver, a 17-year-old Su­per­car pace set­ter and an Ir­ish driver mak­ing his mark in the USA are the three driv­ers se­lected as fi­nal­ists in the Mo­tor­sport Ire­land Young Rac­ing Driver of the Year award.

Char­lie East­wood (23), from Castlereag­h, Belfast has been named along­side 17-year-old Cameron Fen­ton, Grey­stones, Co. Wick­low and James Roe (20), from Bo­den­stown, Co Kil­dare, in the race for the pres­ti­gious Sex­ton Tro­phy and €50,000!

The three driv­ers were drawn from six can­di­dates who were nom­i­nated on the back of their per­for­mances dur­ing the course of this year. They were se­lected from a range of track rac­ing dis­ci­plines and un­der­went a rig­or­ous se­lec­tion process in front of a judg­ing panel made up from rep­re­sen­ta­tives of the rac­ing com­mu­nity and the me­dia.

Cameron Fen­ton com­peted in the do­mes­tic su­per­car cham­pi­onship, win­ning 7 out of 12 races and where he was the un­chal­lenged pace-set­ter, both in race re­sults and lap times. He missed out on the cham­pi­onship by one point due to car re­li­a­bil­ity is­sues.

“This is an out­stand­ing tes­ta­ment to how our young driv­ers are pro­gress­ing in the sport to­day.” said John Nay­lor, Pres­i­dent of Mo­tor­sport Ire­land when told of the fi­nal­ists. “Who­ever wins this year’s ti­tle will have won it against the stiffest op­po­si­tion pos­si­ble. Good luck to them all”.

The Mo­tor­sport Ire­land Young Rac­ing Driver of the Year award and the his­toric Sex­ton Tro­phy are pre­sented to the in­di­vid­ual who has demon­strated the most po­ten­tial to rep­re­sent Ire­land at home and in­ter­na­tion­ally both on the track as well as in the pub­lic eye. The win­ner will re­ceive a €50,000 sup­port pack­age to help de­velop their mo­tor rac­ing ca­reer.

In ad­di­tion, all three fi­nal­ists will be in­cluded in the Team Ire­land de­vel­op­ment pro­gramme run by Mo­tor­sport Ire­land to nur­ture and sup­port young driv­ers.

The cur­rent Mo­tor­sport Ire­land Young Driver of The Year, Jordan Dempsey, con­cluded a very dom­i­nant run in the FIA F4 Chi­nese Cham­pi­onship by clinch­ing the driver’s ti­tle in what was his maiden sea­son in the class.

The over­all win­ner of the 2018 award will be an­nounced at the Ir­ish Mo­tor­sport awards cer­e­mony which will take place on Tues­day, De­cem­ber 4, at The Round Room at The Man­sion House.

The award is pre­sented an­nu­ally and is sup­ported by Sport Ire­land and Mo­tor­sport Ire­land.

Cameron Fen­ton

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.