Wick­low beaten by Laois in shield fi­nal

Wicklow People (West Edition) - - SPORT - GERRY REILLY LE­IN­STER U16 SHIELD FI­NAL


THE Wick­low un­der-16 foot­ballers came up short in the Gerry Reilly Le­in­ster U16 Shield fi­nal played in Mill­brook, Old­cas­tle, on Satur­day af­ter­noon af­ter a Laois blitz in the last quar­ter which saw them score two cru­cial goals against the Gar­den County men.

Laois had the strong wind ad­vange in the first half, but it was Wick­low had the first scor­ing chance when their goal at­tempt was de­flected for a 45.

Laois got the first score when Colin Dunne pointed. Joe Mills equalised for Wick­low, But Colin Dunne put Laois ahead with 2 points(1f). Wick­low’s, Joe Mills sec­ond point be­fore DJ White pointed from a free to leave two be­tween the sides at the break Half-time: Laois 0-4, Wick­low 0-2.

Wick­low now had the wind and went on to lead for the first time with four points added to Laois’ sin­gle ef­fort.

But then when Colin Dunne got Laois’ first goal in the fi­nal quar­ter, they got on top and Wick­low seemed to tire. Wick­low never gave up, but the result was put be­yond any doubt with Adam Burns’ sec­ond goal for Laois as time ran out.

Scor­ers for Laois: Colin Dunne (1-4, 2f),Adam Burns (1-0), Oisin Hooney (0-2), Ross Merdith and DJ White(f) (0-1) each

Scor­ers for Wick­low: Joe Mill (0-3,1f), Daniel Cooney, Joe Pren­der­gast, Ross Quinn and Niall O’Con­nor (0-1) each

WICK­LOW: Sean O’Neill (Éire Óg), Mark Evans (St. Pa­trick’s), Ross Quinn (Rath­new), Jean Luc Mor­ris (St Kevins), Matt Nolan (An Tochar), Luke O’Brien (Bless­ing­ton), Shane Collins (Kil­coole), Daniel Cooney (Bless­ing­ton), Joe Pren­der­gast (Éire Óg), Liam O’Neill (Coolkenno), Micky O’Rourke (St Nicholas), Niall O’Con­nor (Baltinglas­s), Joe Mills (St Nicholas), Eoin Doyle (Rath­new), Noah Sheri­dan (Ash­ford). Subs/Panel: Daniel Silke Feather­son (Bless­ing­ton), JP Nolan (An Tochar), Hugh O’Toole (Baltinglas­s), Cor­mac McGraynor (Avon­dale), Cian Tim­mons (An Tochar), An­drew Nolan (An Tochar), Oisin Mor­ris­sey (Michael Dwyers), Rory O’Dare (Tinahely), Shane Arthur (Derry Gaels), Sean Har­mon (Michael Dwyers), Ryan Ka­vanagh (St Pa­tricks), Conor Mur­phy (Bray Em­mets), Ewan Cult­bert (Rath­new), Pa­trick Mur­phy (Tinahely), Stephen Con­nolly (Baltinglas­s), Sam Bishop (Ash­ford), Oisin Gor­man (Tinahely), Bran­don Han­lon (AGB), Calum Mut­ton (Tinahely), Mickey O’Toole (Bless­ing­ton), Ryan De­lamere (An Tochar), Conor Byrne (Derry Gaels), Niall Shee­han (An Tochar), Kevin Leonard (Barn­dar­rig), Neil O’Gal­loighoir (Bless­ing­ton).

REF­EREE: Padraig Boy­lan (Meath)

The Wick­low un­der-16 foot­ballers who lost out to Laois in the Gerry Reilly Shield fi­nal in Old­cas­tle last week­end.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.