Joy for Ffrench’s Wick­low af­ter wins over Kil­dare and Meath

Wicklow People (West Edition) - - SPORT - HIBER­NIAN FI­NAL at Leixlip

THE Wick­low un­der-15 hurlers brought suc­cess back to the Gar­den County on Satur­day last when they claimed the Un­der-15 Hiber­nian ti­tle in Leixlip thanks to a 3-8 to 2-7 vic­tory over Kil­dare.

Colm Ffrench’s hurlers got the bet­ter of Meath in the semi-fi­nal im­me­di­ately be­fore the de­cider and then went on to im­press against the Li­ly­whites.

Wick­low con­trolled most of the game. The Gar­den County lads led af­ter 15 min­utes but Kil­dare clawed back and were a point up be­fore we equal­ized just be­fore half-time to make 1-6 to 2-3 at the break.

Early in the sec­ond half Billy Mol­loy and James Ffrench got a goal each. Austin Brennan topped it up with some frees. Luke Fraw­ley made a crack­ing save in the Wick­low goal in the dy­ing min­utes. Kil­dare then popped over a cou­ple of points. It was very tight in the end but Wick­low came out on the win­ning side on a score­line of 3-8 to 2-7.

That ends the sea­son for the ta­lented young hurl­ing side.

Wick­low U15 Hurl­ing Squad: Luke Fraw­ley (North­ern Gaels), Kieran Oven­den (North­ern Gaels), Fi­achra Downey (Bray Emmets), Char­lie Cham­ley (Michael Dwyers), John O’Brien (St Pa­trick’s Wick­low), Austin Brennan (Michael Dwyers), Cor­mac Byrne (Gle­nealy), Finn Treacy (Bray Emmets) (cap­tain), Jamie Gre­han (North­ern Gaels), James Ffrench (Gle­nealy), Sam Gough (Michael Dwyers), Billy Mol­loy (Carnew Emmets), Char­lie Fraw­ley (North­ern Gaels), Se­nan Ro­gan (North­ern Gaels), Conor Richard­son (Michael Dwyers), Mau­rice Shiels (Carnew Emmets), Conor Man­i­fold (Michael Dwyers), Larry Kin­sella (Carnew), Kian Con­lon (Gle­nealy), Michael Shan­non (North­ern Gaels), Ruairi O’Brien (Carnew Emmets), Will Mol­loy (Carnew Emmets), Adam Wil­liamson (Michael Dwyers), Kevin Booth (North­ern Gaels), James Byrne (Bray Emmets), Evan Cooke (North­ern Gaels), Shane Bag­u­ley (Bray Emmets), Cathal Mac Mao­lain (Bray Emmets), Oisin Tag­gart (North­ern Gaels), Daniel Browne (Gle­nealy), Ben Meade (Gle­nealy), Aaron Devlin (Gle­nealy), Cian O Lion­aigh (North­ern Gaels), Fin­tan Potts (North­ern Gaels), Shane Byrne (Carnew Emmets). Men­tors: Colm Ffrench, Karl Cooke, and Pat Brennan.

The Wick­low un­der-15 panel af­ter their Hiber­nian Cup fi­nal vic­tory over Kil­dare.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.