Jack and Josh se­lected

Wicklow People (West Edition) - - SPORT -

CO. WICK­LOW pair Jack Co­nan and Josh van der Flier have been se­lected by Ire­land head coach Joe Sch­midt as part of the 31-man squad that will travel to Ja­pan on Wed­nes­day, Septem­ber 11, to com­pete at the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Six of the squad named fea­tured at the pre­vi­ous two Rugby World Cups – Sean Cronin, Keith Earls, Cian Healy, Rob Kear­ney, Conor Mur­ray and Johnny Sex­ton, while a fur­ther five played in the 2015 tour­na­ment – Tadhg Fur­long, Iain Hen­der­son, Rob­bie Hen­shaw, Peter O’Ma­hony and Rhys Rud­dock.

The re­main­ing 19 play­ers will be mak­ing their Rugby World Cup de­buts – Bundee Aki, Tadhg Beirne, Joey Car­bery, Jack Carty, Jack Co­nan, An­drew Con­way, Chris Far­rell, Dave Kil­coyne, Jean Kleyn, Jor­dan Lar­mour, Luke McGrath, An­drew Porter, James Ryan, John Ryan, Niall Scan­nell, CJ Stander, Garry Rin­grose, Ja­cob Stock­dale and Josh van der Flier.

Ire­land open against Scot­land at the Yoko­hama Sta­dium in Tokyo on Sunday, Septem­ber 22.

For­mer Wick­low RFC player Josh van der Flier makes the team.

Bray’s Jack Co­nan will be mak­ing the trip to Ja­pan.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.