Great time had by all at Ark­low Sea Scouts Awards and Fun Day

Wicklow People (West Edition) - - NEWS - By EIMEAR DODD

THERE was great ex­cite­ment at the Ark­low Sea Scouts an­nual awards and fun day.

Beavers, cubs, scouts and ven­tures all gath­ered to­gether along with their fam­i­lies for this very spe­cial occasion which was held on Sunday, Septem­ber 15. Group leader Ger Sheri­dan wel­comed County Com­mis­sioner Der­mot Moore, Na­tional Sec­re­tary of Scout­ing Ire­land Char­lie McGuin­ness and Sean Farrell, Vice-Pres­i­dent of Scout­ing Ire­land to the event. Wick­low TDs John Brady and Min­is­ter of State An­drew Doyle were also guests at the event.

Youth mem­bers were pre­sented with awards dur­ing the cer­e­mony. Among these, El­don Kear­nan re­ceived an As­gard Troop Award, Jack Byrne re­ceived an Al­ba­tross Tropp Award Scouters Jenny Dempsey and Mu­rat Kanya re­ceived their wood badges. There were also pre­sen­ta­tions of ser­vice awards to lead­ers.

The pres­ti­gious Or­der of Cú Chu­lainn Award was pre­sented to Ma­jella Myler by Scout­ing Ire­land for her fan­tas­tic work and ded­i­ca­tion to scout­ing. She was also recog­nised by the na­tional scout­ing or­gan­i­sa­tion for her com­mit­ment to­wards the de­vel­op­ment of young peo­ple in the gar­den county over the past 40 years.

An afternoon of ac­tiv­i­ties in­clud­ing boat­ing, first aid and team build­ing games fol­lowed the awards cer­e­mony. The event drew to a close with a bar­beque which was en­joyed by every­one.

Mean­while, 45 Fal­con Cubs from the ninth Wick­low port of Ark­low had a great time at the amaz­ing Splash Val­ley in Rathdrum last Satur­day. The young cubs were treated to fun day out on the wa­ter at the aqua park. The sea scouts ex­tended their thanks to Molly and Lloyd Wil­lams and all the team at Splash Val­ley for an en­joy­able day of ac­tiv­i­ties.

Tiller Troop Award-win­ners Eva Duffy, Ciara Con­dren, Jamie Tobin and Owen Byrne.

El­don Kear­nan with his As­gard Troop Award and Jack Byrne with his Al­ba­tross Troop Award.

Char­lie McGuin­ness, Na­tional Sec­re­tary of Scout­ing Ire­land, award­ing the Wood Badge to Jenny For­tune and Mu­rat Kanya.

Ma­jella Myler with her Or­der of Cú Chu­lainn Award.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.