Abreu and degrom mlb’s rook­ies of the year

JoongAng Daily - - Sports - AP

Chicago White Sox first base­man Jose Abreu was a unan­i­mous win­ner of the AL Rookie of the Year award on Mon­day, and New York Mets pitcher Ja­cob deGrom won the NL honor.

“I don’t have any words to de­scribe this mo­ment,’’ Abreu said through a trans­la­tor on an MLB Net­work tele­cast. “I con­sider my­self a good hit­ter, and I guess I’ve proven it.’’

One year after de­fect­ing from Cuba, the 27-year-old Abreu led the ma­jor leagues with a .581 slug­ging per­cent­age. He was sixth in bat­ting at .317, tied for fourth in home runs with 36 and fifth in RBIs with 107.

Abreu re­ceived all 30 first-place votes for 150 points in bal­lot­ing by the Base­ball Writ­ers’ As­so­ci­a­tion of Amer­ica.

Los An­ge­les An­gels right-han­der Matt Shoe­maker was sec­ond with 40 points, fol­lowed by New York Yan­kees re­liever Dellin Be­tances (27), Hous­ton pitcher Collin McHugh (21) and Yan­kees pitcher Masahiro Tanaka (16), who was hurt for most of the sec­ond half of the sea­son.

Abreu hit .383 with three homers and nine RBIs for Cuba at last year’s World Base­ball Clas­sic, then de­fected that sum­mer and signed a $68 mil­lion, six-year con­tract with the White Sox in Oc­to­ber.

He be­came the first qual­i­fy­ing rookie to lead the ma­jor leagues in slug­ging per­cent­age since Oak­land’s Mark McGwire in 1987, ac­cord­ing to Stats.

Abreu is the sixth White Sox player to earn the honor fol­low­ing Luis Apari­cio (1956), Gary Peters (1963), Tom­mie Agee (1966), Ron Kit­tle (1983) and Ozzie Guillen (1985).

DeGrom re­ceived 26 of 30 first­place votes and 142 points. Speedy Cincin­nati out­fielder Billy Hamil­ton was sec­ond with four firsts and 92 points.

With his shoul­der-length hair flap­ping out from un­der his cap, deGrom was a hit right from the start of his ma­jor league ca­reer.

He made his de­but against the Yan­kees on May 15, a month be­fore his 26th birth­day, and his third-in­ning sin­gle ended an 0-for-64 start to the sea­son at the plate for New York’s pitch­ers, the worst slide to open a sea­son in ma­jor league his­tory.

“Even com­ing into this year, I didn’t know what to ex­pect,’’ said deGrom, who started the sea­son in Triple-A. “It all worked out.’’

DeGrom went 0-4 with a 4.39 ERA in his first seven starts, then won at Mi­ami with seven score­less in­nings on June 21. He went on to win nine of his last 11 de­ci­sions, com­pil­ing a 1.99 ERA, and fin­ished 9-6 with a 2.69 ERA.

On Aug. 2, deGrom took a no-hit bid into the sev­enth in­ning against San Francisco be­fore Pablo San­doval’s two-out dou­ble. He achieved another bit of no­to­ri­ety against the Marlins on Sept. 15, strik­ing Mi­ami’s first eight bat­ters to tie the record for whiffs at the start of a game. DeGrom joined Hous­ton’s Jim De­shaies in 1986 as the only pitch­ers to do it since 1900.

DeGrom be­came the fifth Mets win­ner of the award, join­ing Tom Seaver (1967), Jon Mat­lack (1972), Dar­ryl Straw­berry (1983) and Dwight Gooden (1984).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Korea, Republic

© PressReader. All rights reserved.