DPK wins 11 out of 12 by-elec­tions: exit polls

The Korea Times - - ELECTIONS - By Park Ji-won jw­park@ko­re­atimes.co.kr

The rul­ing Demo­cratic Party of Korea (DPK) swept 11 of 12 by-elec­tions for empty Na­tional Assem­bly seats, ac­cord­ing to exit polls an­nounced at 6 p.m., Wed­nes­day.

The by-elec­tions were to fill po­si­tions va­cated after former law­mak­ers stepped down to run in lo­cal elec­tions or were stripped of their seats after be­ing found guilty of law vi­o­la­tions.

The DPK which had hopes for po­lit­i­cal gains in the first coun­try-wide test of po­lit­i­cal opin­ion on the Moon Jae-in ad­min­is­tra­tion, won seats in 11 out of 12 districts. The DPK won in Songpa B (Choi Jae-seong) and Nowon C (Kim Seong-hwan) in Seoul; Nam-dong A (Maeng Seong-gyu) in In­cheon; Cheo­nan A (Lee Gyu-hee) and C (Yoon Il-gyu) in South Chungcheong Province; Seo-gu A (Song Kap-seok) in Gwangju; Yeongam, Muan and Si­nan (Seo Sam-seok) in South Je­olla Province; Hae­un­dae B (Yoon Joon-ho) in Bu­san; Buk-gu (Lee Sang-heon) in Ul­san; and Gimhae B (Kim Jeong-ho) in South Gyeongsang Province.

The DPK’s Lee Hoo-sam and the LKP’s Um Tae-yong were con­tend­ing within a mar­gin of er­ror in the Jecheon-Danyang district of North Chungcheong Province, al­though Lee was in the lead.

The main op­po­si­tion Lib­erty Korea Party (LKP) won in Gim­cheon (Song Eon-seok) in North Gyeongsang Province.

The seats of the rul­ing DPK will in­crease to 129 in the 300-mem­ber Na­tional Assem­bly, while the main op­po­si­tion LKP will have 113 seats.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Korea, Republic

© PressReader. All rights reserved.