Arab Times

TEC beat MACE; AECK and KEA win


KUWAIT CITY, Nov 11: The 18th Prof Ramachandr­an memorial Cricket Tournament (RMC) conducted by College of Engineerin­g Trivandrum Alumni Associatio­n (CETAA) and sponsored by GTE Olayan Co, Khuff GT&C and Nouri Industrial Est continued on Nov 6, 2015 at the Fahaheel Cricket Ground with a match between TEC and MACE in Pool B.

Opting to bat first, TEC showed their aggressive intend from the very beginning. In spite of loosing Girish (run out) in the 2nd over, the other batsmen came into their own. Suresh (18), Dinto (27) and Shajeer (23-man of the match) scored at a fast pace to put TEC in command. And when Sunil (18 no) and Ramesh (11 no) put the finishing touches with their power hitting, TEC had match winning total of 114 runs for 4 wickets in their 12 overs with 74 runs coming in the last 6 overs.

Akshay, Saju and Tinu got a wicket each for MACE but could not stem the flow of runs. Chasing a daunting task, only Tinu (12) and Jose (10) showed some resistance and MACE finished on a disappoint­ing 60 for 7 wickets in their 12 overs leaving TEC convincing winners by 54 runs. For TEC, Shajeer and Dinto (2 wickets each), Sandeep and Sreekumar 91 each) made sure there were no alarms in the chase.

In the 2nd match, batting 1st NIT were pegged down by the persistenc­e of the AECK attack and only Geo (16) could make any headway. NIT finished on a moderate 56 runs for 7 wickets in their 12 overs. Irshad (man of the match) and Renjith took 2 wickets while Shabeer and Shameer took a wicket each for AECK to contain NIT.

With their strong batting line up 56 was not a challengin­g score and AECK got home in the 8 over for the loss of only 2 wickets. Melvin (23) and Subin Vasu (19 no) made merry while Arun and Ajay took a wicket each for NIT to lessen the margin of defeat.

In the last match of the day, hosts CET won the toss and put last year champs KEA in to bat. The move seemed to pay off as star Ajin and Nithin were removed early to put KEA under pressure. Skipper Tibish and Binu too departed by the 6th over with the score reading 42. But opener Govind (38 off 22 balls — man of the match) got good support from Renju (18) to take KEA to 70 by the 8th over.

Presoon (14 no) and Arjun (10 no) then scored a crucial unbeaten 26 runs for the 9th wicket to put KEA firmly in control. KEA finally reached 106 for 8 wickets in their 12 overs. CET’s bowling and fielding stood out. Arun Davidson, Daniel, Zameer and Prashanth took 2 wickets each, but could not quite contain KEA’s fire power.

In reply, CET could not get their expected start from the openers and none of the other batsman too could offer much resistance to the experi-

 ??  ?? Anilkumar (GC) giving man of the match to Irshad (AECK)
Anilkumar (GC) giving man of the match to Irshad (AECK)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Kuwait