Warisan takes over BN strongholds with wins at Batu Sapi, Sekong, Kara­munt­ing

The Borneo Post (Sabah) - - HOME -

SAN­DAKAN: Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan) man­aged to win all Barisan Na­sional (BN) strong­hold, the P.185 Batu Sapi par­lia­men­tary seat and two state seats un­der it, N.43 Sekong and N.44 Kara­munt­ing.

Warisan per­ma­nent chair­man Datuk Liew Vui Keong de­feated Datuk Linda Tsen Thau Lin from Parti Ber­satu Sabah (PBS) with a ma­jor­ity of 4,619 votes.

Liew gar­nered 12,976 votes while Linda Tsen got 8,357 votes in the four-cornered fight.

Nor­sah Bongsu from PAS gar­nered 948 votes while Hamzah Ab­dul­lah from Parti Amanah Ne­gara (Amanah) gar­nered 980 votes.

Hamzah is the chair­man of Amanah Sabah, and this gen­eral elec­tion was the sixth time he was con­test­ing, but the first time rep­re­sent­ing Amanah.

The Batu Sapi par­lia­men­tary has a to­tal of 32,574 reg­is­tered votes, with a 73.8 per cent turnout and 655 spoilt votes.

BN also failed to de­fend the N.43 Sekong state seat as Arifin As­gali from Warisan won 2,035 ma­jor­ity with 6,740 votes, against Datuk Sam­sudin Yahya with 4,705 votes.

The seat had six can­di­dates, the four oth­ers were Sa­har Ab­dul Ma­jid from PAS (366 votes), Abd Rashid Abd Rah­man from STAR (48 votes, lost de­posit), Datu Faisal Datu Bachtiyal, in­de­pen­dent can­di­date (44 votes, lost de­posit) and Alias Ra­mad Ben­jamin from Parti Ke­bangsaan Sabah (16 votes, lost de­posit).

Sekong recorded a to­tal of 16,552 reg­is­tered vot­ers, with a 74.5 per cent turnout and 337 spoilt bal­lots.

Ge­orge Hiew Vun Zin from Warisan won N.44 Kara­munt­ing with a ma­jor­ity of 3,848, with 7,243 votes gar­nered against Barisan Na­sional Lib­eral Demo­cratic Party’s first time can­di­date, Lim Kai Min who gar­nered 3,395 votes.

Two other can­di­dates were Nor­sah Bongsu from PAS (677 votes) and Be­sarun Kecha from STAR (61 votes, lose de­posit).

Kara­munt­ing has 16,052 reg­is­tered vot­ers with a 73 per cent turnout, and 267 re­jected bal­lots.

The re­sult was an­nounced by re­turn­ing of­fi­cer Mohd Salleh Ab­bas at Forestry Depart­ment here at around 12.30am.

Ham­san an­nounc­ing the of­fi­cial re­sult of GE14 for San­dakan, with rep­re­sen­ta­tives from DAP.

Lim Guan Eng and Chow KonYeow con­grat­u­late each other at the tal­ly­ing cen­tre in Ge­orge Town early to­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.