Sa­ma­ra­han eye­ing three gold in Miri

The Borneo Post - - SUNDAY SPORT -

KUCHING: The Sa­ma­ra­han Divi­sion Ta­ble Ten­nis As­so­ci­a­tion are look­ing to im­prove on their past per­for­mance in the 58th Sarawak Ta­ble Ten­nis Cham­pi­onship to be hosted by Miri from Dec 10 to 24.

With 30 play­ers in­clud­ing seven non-Chi­nese play­ers car­ry­ing the chal­lenge, Sa­ma­ra­han are tar­get­ing to three gold medals.

They won two gold medals to fin­ish fourth over­all in last year’s tour­na­ment held in Se­rian.

With the ab­sence of last year’s run­ners-up Kuching this year, Sa­ma­ra­han have high hopes of mak­ing a top-three fin­ish.

They will be bank­ing on the “chop­per” pair Bran­don Tan Tze Yuan and Cody Ting Shi Hao who won the Boys U13 dou­bles ti­tle at the 31st Milo Hope Ta­ble Ten­nis Cham­pi­onship last Sun­day.

Bran­don and Cody were among the eight pad­dlers from Sa­ma­ra­han who were mem­bers of the Sarawak team in that na­tional U13 and U10 cham­pi­onships held in Kota Kin­a­balu, Sabah.

Mean­while, Sa­ma­ra­han Divi­sion Ta­ble Ten­nis As­so­ci­a­tion chair­man Joseph Ting of­fered some prac­ti­cal ad­vice to the play­ers.

“You must be pa­tient when play­ing against your op­po­nents and do not be too anx­ious to beat them. In­stead, you should keep your cool and dis­play your best abil­i­ties,” he said dur­ing the flag pre­sen­ta­tion cum din­ner at a lo­cal res­tau­rant on Fri­day.

Also present were hon­orary pres­i­dent Datuk Yii Chi Hao, pres­i­dent Si­mon Ngu, deputy pres­i­dent Ho Chion Soo, vice pres­i­dent Lau Kah Moi and other com­mit­tee mem­bers.

Yii is also the con­tin­gent leader with Ngu and Ho as his deputies while Yu Min Tao is the team coach. Other mem­bers of the boys team are Brian Hon Wei Kiat, Chua Choon Beng, Dar­ren Goh Shang Loong, Ed­win Tan Poh Jun, Jen­son Chai Zhi Yu, Kelvin Goh Cheng Long, Liew Chun Xian, Liew Han Ying, Nathan Lai Yi Yung, Nathan Lu Jun Xi, Wences­laus Jong Fong Rui and the team’s youngest player eight-year old Liew Xuan Hao who is play­ing in his se­cond state cham­pi­onship. The girls team is made up of Foo Sze Hui, An­ge­line Tian Xuan, Audrey Hon Jing Wen, Candy Tan Poh Tze, Edda Bong Sze En, Enno Bong Sze Yuan, Liew Kai Ying, Tan Chung Jia and Tan Chung Yi.

Those com­pet­ing in the non-Chi­nese cat­e­gories are Dr Nor Ai­man Sukin­dar, Awang Khairud­din Su­long Awang Sabli, Muhd Sal­man Naraeie, Sla­mat Fata, Su­nizam Uton, Wan Hashim Wan Ibrahim and Zaidi Sahdin.

Ting (third right) presents the as­so­ci­a­tion flag to team man­ager Liew Jew Che­ung while (from fourth right) Ho, Yii, Ngu, Lau and oth­ers dis­play team spirit at the flag pre­sen­ta­tion cer­e­mony.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.