The Sun (Malaysia)

Pua’s team wins majority exco seats


KUALA LUMPUR: As expected, the official team fielded by Petaling Jaya Utara MP Tony Pua won most of the 15 executive council seats at the Selangor DAP ordinary convention in Petaling Jaya yesterday.

Pua’s team won with large majorities although he himself won with a reduced majority.

Puchong MP Gobind Singh Deo, who is in Pua’s team, polled 736 votes, the highest number.

However, the big winner of the election was former Selangor exco member and Pandamaran assemblyma­n Ronnie Liu who polled 649 votes.

Other winners included Kampung Tunku assemblyma­n Lau Weng San and state exco members Ean Yong Hian Wah and V. Ganabatira­u.

Selangor exco Datuk Teng Chang Khim, seen as Pua’s main rival, also won one of the 15 seats although most of his supporters lost.

A notable loser was Klang MP Charles Santiago and former committee member T. Kannan.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia