What is the Pa-O zone?

The Myanmar Times - - International / Local Business -

THE Pa-O Self-ad­min­is­tered Zone, which en­com­passes Ho­pong, Hsi Hseng and Pin­laung town­ships in Shan, is one of the five self-ad­min­is­tered zones es­tab­lished un­der the 2008 con­sti­tu­tion to give eth­nic mi­nori­ties more ad­min­is­tra­tive con­trol. The oth­ers are Danu, Kokang, Naga, Pa Laung self-ad­min­is­tered zones. Th­ese en­ti­ties, which are over­seen by gov­ern­ments known as “lead­ing bod­ies”, sit be­low the re­gional gov­ern­ments. Un­der the 2008 con­sti­tu­tion, th­ese lead­ing bod­ies have leg­isla­tive power over 10 ar­eas, in­clud­ing de­vel­op­ment af­fairs, pub­lic health, wa­ter and elec­tric­ity.

In 2016, the MIID sup­ported the es­tab­lish­ment of com­mu­nity-based tourism in the zone with plan­ning and train­ing. In Jan­uary this year, the MMID and DaNa signed a US$ 400,000 three-year grant agree­ment to im­prove the eco­nomic op­por­tu­ni­ties for 400 small­holder farm­ers in Pa-O.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Myanmar

© PressReader. All rights reserved.