Mount, Greer­ton into fi­nal

Bowlers rule as cham­pi­ons edge Cadets to seal spot

Bay of Plenty Times - - SPORT - — Sup­plied con­tent

Rounds five and six of the Bay­wide Twenty20 Cham­pi­onship pro­duced some thrilling en­coun­ters and now we have our fi­nal­ists. De­fend­ing cham­pi­ons Car­rus Mount Maun­ganui booked their spot when they beat long-time ri­vals El­e­ment IMF Cadets in round six on Satur­day af­ter­noon.

Af­ter sit­ting out the round five bye in the morn­ing, the Mount side strug­gled with the op­po­si­tion bowl­ing on what turned out to be a bowlers’ par­adise, be­ing re­moved for just 56. Dan Smith was the only Mount Maun­ganui bats­man to reach the 20s. Cadets cap­tain Jono Boult took aim with his off-breaks to claim five wick­ets for 22 runs while Ka­mal Bains and Ja­cob Lo­gan took two cheap wick­ets each.

Cadets were then bowled out for 46, off the sec­ond ball of the eigh­teenth over, as the Mount Maun­ganui bowlers suc­cess­fully de­fended what looked to be a very mod­est to­tal. The Cadets’ top score of 14 showed the dom­i­nance of the Mount’s slow bowlers. Craig Baldry, who joined Mount Maun­ganui from Tau­ranga Boys’ Col­lege at the start of the sea­son, wove his magic with the ball to take five wick­ets at a cost of just 10 runs.

Mount Maun­ganui will take on Eves Realty Greer­ton in the title de­cider next week­end. The Pem­ber­ton Park-based side were never trou­bled in their two games at Fer­gus­son Park, win­ning both with seven wick­ets to spare.

In round five Greer­ton beat GM Painters Lake Taupo¯ CC, bowl­ing them out for just 75. Taupo¯ skip­per Hashim Ma­lik top-scored with 24, while Lee Watkins and Dan Spencer took three-wicket hauls. The Bay­wide and Wil­liams Cup title hold­ers cruised home, with new club re­cruit Henry Col­lier there at the end with an un­beaten 60 runs.

Bay­leys Cen­tral In­di­ans bat­ted first in their round-six en­counter with Greer­ton and posted a re­spectable 121/8. First in­nings hon­ours be­longed to Lovely Sidhu with 33 runs and Josh Orm­rod and Henry Col­lier with three wick­ets apiece.

Shaun Mccarthy an­chored the Greer­ton vic­tory with an un­beaten 33, while Lee Watkins and Pip Thick­penny also made use­ful con­tri­bu­tions.

The fi­nal round of qual­i­fy­ing play on Satur­day will be the en­tree to the T20 title de­cider. Fe­bru­ary 2-3: Denny Hulme Tro­phy – Bruce Mclaren Mo­tor­sport Park, Taupo¯ . Do you have an event you would like in­cluded in What’s On? Please email de­tails through to [email protected]

Pho­tos / An­drew Warner

Jono Boult is bowled dur­ing a Twenty20 match against Mount Maun­ganui.

Nick Smith bowls for Mount Maun­ganui against Cadets.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.