Top team de­liv­ers

Bush Telegraph - - Property Market - By JIM MOR­TON Dan­nevirke Clay Tar­get Club

Sun­day June 3 was a team shoot event at the Woodville Gun Club con­tested by clubs from Woodville, Dan­nevirke, Wairarapa, Palmer­ston North and Wan­ganui ar­eas.

The events shot in­clude the Dalzield Shield 25 skeet; Glen Shield 25 sin­gle rise; McGovern Shield 25 point score; Suther­land Shield 20 pair dou­ble rise; Gym­crack cup and 15 minis. The team that wins the most events hosts the event next year.

Dan­nevirke had great sup­port from its mem­bers and three teams of five were en­tered:

Team 1: Brian Smith; Mark Baxter, Tony Cur­ran, Ian Hali­well, and Jim Mor­ton.

Team 2: Roger Bi­dois, Mark John­ston, Tug O’Brien, Dave Smith and Mitchell Dean.

Team 3: John Rus­sell, Peter Gib­son, Rob Means, Tony Holt and Bill Ma­son.

The Dan­nevirke Team 2 would be the strong­est team the Dan­nevirke Clay Tar­get Club has put to­gether and they de­liv­ered for the club, win­ning three of the day’s events (sin­gle rise, dou­ble rise and gym­crack) and com­ing sec­ond in the other three.

Within the teams there were a few great in­di­vid­ual scores: Rob Means 25/25 sin­gle rise; Ian Hali­well 75/75 point score; Jim Mor­ton 72/75 point score; Brian Smith 18/20 dou­ble rise (al­most in the dark); Mark Baxter had a great day for some­one who has not shot in a com­pe­ti­tion for a num­ber of years; Mitchell Dean 25/25 sin­gle rise; Tug O’Brien and Roger Bi­dois 14/14 gym­crack (and miss­ing his last tar­get at skeet for a 24/25); Dave Smith 19/20 dou­ble rise; Mark John­ston 25/25 sin­gle rise.

Mark John­ston has shot very lit­tle in the last 12 months but put to­gether an­other great per­for­mance across the var­i­ous dis­ci­plines.

Mark was only two tar­gets (4 points) down on the top in­di­vid­ual score for the day. Team 2 — Roger Bi­dois, Mark John­ston, Tug O’Brien, Dave Smith and Mitchell Dean — top team of the day, Dan­nevirke Clay Tar­get Club will host this event next year.

Dan­nevirke Team with the Suther­land Dou­ble Rise Tro­phy. Left to right: Mitchell Dean, Roger Bi­dois, Tug O’Brien, Mark John­ston and Dave Smith.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.