Spear Chukkaz win Darts A-grade

Bush Telegraph - - NEWS - By DAVE MUR­DOCH

Dan­nevirke Darts con­tin­ues to thrive in the town with 24 teams to­talling over 200 play­ers com­pet­ing every Thurs­day night at four venues.

They play at the Saigon Restau­rant and Bar, Mer­rylees Ho­tel, Man­gat­era Ho­tel and the Dan­nevirke Ser­vices and Ci­ti­zen’s Club.

Af­ter 12 rounds on Thurs­day June 21 the round robin was com­plete and the teams were graded into three di­vi­sions based on their re­sults.

On Satur­day Septem­ber 15, 24 teams came down to six for the fi­nals of the three grades played at the Dan­nevirke Ser­vices and Ci­ti­zen’s Club.

The pre­vi­ous Thurs­day the semi-fi­nals were played at the other three venues with the fi­nal­ists be­ing found — A Grade Spear Chukkaz v Stray Cats; B-Grade Point­ers v Ter­ror Wrists; C-Grade Scooby Moos v Yog­gies.

The first named teams in each grade won, with Johny Lilo scor­ing a 180 for Spear Chukkaz a high­light.

Dan­nevirke Darts is in great heart with new lead­er­ship re­cently elected.

Wayne Hansen and Sam Hansen are tak­ing over as pres­i­dent and sec­re­tary from long-serv­ing Colin and Vicky Hansen who are re­tir­ing af­ter 14 years of run­ning the club.

Spear Chukkaz the win­ning A-Grade team look thrilled. From Back left: John Lilo, Pat Matekuare, Mike Matthews, Kopua Mil­ner Ken­neth Hart, Willy Veitch, Donny Ma­son. In front Adam Web­ster and Ja­son Jack­son.

Rob Harold shoots for Scooby Moos the win­ner of the C-Grade.

Point­ers the win­ning B-grade team. Back from Left: Te Ahu Grace, Ho­era Stephen­son. Front: Ed Knox, Char­lie Maru and Shane Wi­tika. (Ab­sent Har­ley Hauiti)

A con­vivial at­mos­phere at the Dan­nevirke Ser­vices and Ci­ti­zen’s Club on Satur­day night dur­ing the Dan­nevirke Darts fi­nals.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.