Tararua Squash Club rak­ing in ac­co­lades

Bush Telegraph - - EXPLORE PAHIATUA - By JULIE SHAW Tararua Squash Club

Re­cently Pahiatua’s Tararua Squash Club has reaped the ben­e­fits of be­ing a strong club, not only in num­bers but in pro­vid­ing op­por­tu­ni­ties for its mem­bers, from ju­niors to vet­er­ans, to max­imise their po­ten­tial.

Over the win­ter months, the rac­quet man­u­fac­turer Prince spon­sored the Ju­nior Prince Se­ries, which was hosted each Sun­day by squash clubs through­out the Cen­tral Squash district. This cov­ers 22 clubs from Waitara down to Levin and in­cludes Dan­nevirke and Tararua Squash Clubs. The se­ries con­cluded with seven Tararua Squash Club mem­bers in the top 16 for points ac­cu­mu­la­tion and each re­ceiv­ing a prize of a Prince Squash Racket bag. All seven are un­der the guid­ance of lo­cal coach and club mem­ber Peter Arnott.

Each year clubs in the Cen­tral Squash district put to­gether teams of five play­ers and two re­serves in each grade so they can com­pete in the Cen­tral Squash Su­perChamps. This year both the men’s and women’s F-grade Su­perChamps com­pe­ti­tion was hosted by Tararua Squash Club. Teams came from as far as Kawaroa Park Squash Club in New Ply­mouth and O¯ hakune to com­pete and the fi­nal re­sult was a win by both the Tararua Squash Men and Women.

Tararua Squash Club also sent a men’s C-grade team to Ha¯ wera, where they placed sev­enth, and a men’s E-grade team to Dan­nevirke, where they placed third. Since then the club has had their own in­house com­pe­ti­tions with the Tararua Squash Club Graded Champs, Open Champs, and Ju­nior Champs. The women’s win­ners in the Graded Champs were: B-Grade — An­drea Her­bert, C-Grade — Kim Mabey, D-Grade — Abby Treder, E-Grade — Rosie Cor­mack, and F-Grade — Jessica Bills. The men’s win­ners in the Graded Champs were: B-Grade — Justin Brown, C-Grade — Scott Beales, D-Grade — Kyall Dench, E-Grade — Bjorn An­der­sen, and F-Grade — Daniel Bird. The men’s and women’s Open win­ners were Clint Ben­nett and An­drea Her­bert and the boys and girls’ Ju­nior com­pe­ti­tion win­ners were Kasen Hanks and Abby Treder.

Tararua Squash Club’s win­ning women’s and men’s F-Grade teams.

Tararua Squash Club Ju­niors.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.