CHB Mail - - News -

The 2018 Ross Shield pri­mary school rugby tour­na­ment in Cen­tral Hawke’s Bay kicks off to­day.

CHB hosts the 116-yearold tour­na­ment for the first time in five years when Napier, Hast­ings East, Hast­ings West, Wairoa, Dan­nevirke and CHB bat­tle it out for the pres­ti­gious shield at Cen­tral Park in Waipuku­rau. The fi­nal is played on Sat­ur­day.

In ad­di­tion to the Taupo Tro­phy, which has been awarded since 1988 and the Ross Shield, there will be sev­eral other pieces of sil­ver­ware up for grabs this week. The Life Mem­bers Salver is awarded to the best fin­ish­ing coun­try team, Cen­tral who won it last year, Wairoa or Dan­nevirke.

The Jar­rod Cun­ning­ham Trust Tro­phy is awarded to a player iden­ti­fied as hav­ing po­ten­tial and he or she will earn a stint at the In­ter­na­tional Rugby Academy of New Zealand.

Wednes­day is Cup Day at the tour­na­ment and hosts Cen­tral will take on Wairoa for the Tino Amato Tro­phy, Napier will play Dan­nevirke for the Steve Cot­trell Cup and Hast­ings West will play Hast­ings East for the Bill Mathew­son Tro­phy.

The 22 play­ers in CHB’s 2018 Ross Shield squad

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.