HB’s lo­cal he­roes are hon­oured

CHB Mail - - NEWS -

Now in its 10th year, the Ki­wibank Lo­cal Hero Awards are New Zealand’s pre­mier com­mu­nity awards, cel­e­brat­ing and hon­our­ing those who have made a pos­i­tive con­tri­bu­tion to their re­gion, town, sub­urb or com­mu­nity.

This year, 322 medals will be pre­sented na­tion­wide, with one New Zealand Lo­cal Hero of the Year winner an­nounced at the New Zealan­der of the Year Awards gala in Fe­bru­ary next year.

Ki­wibank CEO Steve Jurkovich said the Lo­cal Hero awards al­ways held a spe­cial place in the hearts of the bank’s staff.

“These medal re­cip­i­ents are the un­sung he­roes whose self­less­ness, op­ti­mism and com­mit­ment has had a pro­found ef­fect on the lives of so many in the com­mu­nity. Yet in the rush of day-to-day lives, we can some­times for­get to prop­erly ac­knowl­edge just how spe­cial these peo­ple are.

“That’s why we have the Lo­cal He­roes awards — it’s the com­mu­nity’s way of hon­our­ing and say­ing thanks to these fine peo­ple.”

The 2019 New Zealan­der of the Year Awards are to be pre­sented in six award cat­e­gories, with the over­all winner of each cat­e­gory to be an­nounced at the New Zealan­der of the Year Awards Gala on the 13th Fe­bru­ary 2019.

The cat­e­gories are:

■ The Ki­wibank New Zealan­der of the Year

■ The Metlife­care Se­nior New Zealan­der of the Year

■ The Univer­sity of Auck­land Young New Zealan­der of the Year

■ The Mitre 10 New Zealand Com­mu­nity of the Year

■ The San­i­tar­ium New Zealand In­no­va­tor of the Year

■ The Ki­wibank New Zealand Lo­cal Hero of the Year

Ev­ery­day peo­ple do­ing ex­cep­tional things were the toast of the town last week as Hawke’s Bay hon­oured its own Lo­cal He­roes at the an­nual Ki­wibank Lo­cal Hero Awards.

As part of the 2019 New Zealan­der of the Year Awards, 16 Ki­wibank Lo­cal He­roes were pre­sented with medals to recog­nise their achieve­ments, at the Napier Con­fer­ence Cen­tre.

Napier Mayor Bill Dal­ton, Cen­tral Hawke’s Bay Mayor Alex Walker and Hast­ings Mayor San­dra Ha­zle­hurst pre­sented the medals and con­grat­u­lated the re­cip­i­ents s.

“Our re­gion’s 16 lo­cal he­roes demon­strate the acts of char­ity, com­mit­ment and self­less­ness which is what holds a com­mu­nity to­gether. Many of these in­di­vid­u­als are in­spir­ing mem­bers of Napier who have all uniquely touched the lives of oth­ers,” said Dal­ton.

“The hard work and ded­i­ca­tion of these in­di­vid­u­als can­not be over­stated. I was proud to present my re­gions winners with the medals they de­serve to­day,” said Mayor Walker.

“We are proud to ac­knowl­edge our out­stand­ing Hast­ings peo­ple through the Lo­cal Hero of the Year Awards. They all make an enor­mous con­tri­bu­tion to make our place great.”

said Ha­zle­hurst. Lo­cal He­roes for Hawkes Bay were:

■ Tama Buck­nell (Waipuku­rau)

■ Dr David Tipene-Leach (Hast­ings)

■ Graeme Nor­ton (Hast­ings)

■ Jody Hamil­ton (Napier)

■ Wayne Dou­glas Clark (Have­lock North)

■ Jil­lian Pa­tri­cia Frizzell (Hast­ings)

■ Jan­ice Hopkinson (Have­lock North)

■ Nikki Gard­ner (Hast­ings)

■ Frank Wilkins (Hast­ings)

■ Anthony Richard­son (Here­taunga)

■ Don­ald Ray­mond Fraser (Napier)

■ Rana Tama Te Rangi Hu­ata (Hawke’s Bay)

■ Raewyn Laura Pol­glase (Hast­ings)

■ Judy Halkett (Wairoa)

■ Fae An­der­sen (Flaxmere)

■ Ma­ree Forde-Har­ris (Have­lock North)

Hawke’s Bay’s lineup of Lo­cal He­roes

Head of Epic Min­istries Tama Buck­nell (right) with CHB Mayor Alex Walker.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.