Hauraki-Coromandel Post


- Rodger Bagshaw


The Thames Valley Heartland rugby squad for 2023 has been named.

The Swamp Foxes’ first competitio­n game is away against Whanganui on August 12, with a pre-season hit-out against the NZ Harlequins on Saturday at 2.30pm at Paeroa Domain. Forwards:

Brooklin Toia (Paeroa), Tyrell Kopua* (Cobras), Tyler Relph (Mercury Bay), Jahvani Lolesi* (Cobras), Jacon Janson* (Whangamata¯ ), Nic Souchon* (Paeroa), Cameron Dromgool (Cobras), Luke Mcduff* (Hauraki North), Mosese Halahuni* (Paeroa), Tim Erceg (Waihou), Dylan Horne* (Waihi Athletic), Guto Davies* (Hauraki North), Richard Rosewarne* (Hauraki North). Backs:

Leroy Neels (Cobras), Jake O’connor* (Waihou), Sam Mccahon (Waihou), Taimua Malielegao­i* (Hauraki North), Dane Mathew* (Mercury Bay), Harry Lafituanai (Waihou), Ethan Dromgool (Cobras), Calum Wood (Waihou), Fletcher Morgan* (Waihi Athletic), Patrick Faapale* (Hauraki North), Coel Kerr* (Paeroa), Christian Rosewarne* (Hauraki North), Hendrix Beazley* (Paeroa). *Denotes new cap

Loan and Origin players are to be added.

Apprentice­s: Josh Barker (Hauraki North), Bryson Williams (Paeroa), Hayden Mulgrew (Waihou), Devyn Sheehan (Waihou).

Not available for selection: Connor Mcverry, Ben Stephens, Zac Stephens, Telly Hemopo, Zach Clarke, Patrick Aislabie, Ryan Leopold, Luke Gilbert, Fred Kei, Tiaontin Raoren, Finn Mccall, Rikki Sherrock. — Don Mackay


Whangamata¯ Mah Jong

Friday: We had 50 players with fun replacing any flowers from the middle in the first half instead of the wall. Back to normal in the second half.

The winners were:

1st with 49 points Jennie Walters 2nd with 40 points Jill Thomson 3rd with 38 points Gael Butler Sunday: What a lovely day we had. The company was great, the food was wonderful and the challenge of different hands was stimulatin­g if not frustratin­g at times. We had winners winners winners. Special hand winners, session winners, overall tournament winners and raffle winners.

The top four winners were

1st with 46 points Sally Hitchcock 2nd with 44 points Daphne Inglis 3rd with 44 points Joyce Deeming 4th with 44 points Donna Bailey Please note the last three places had the same points but the judges then take away fishing points to determine the winner. — Whangamata¯ Mah Jong Committee


A highlight of the week was Ken Mustard scoring a hole in one at the 13th hole on Thursday, while on the downside, it was disappoint­ing that the much-anticipate­d Ladies Teams Tournament on Friday had to be postponed due to the inclement weather.

Monday Vets: A sunny day, still with a wind that thankfully died away quickly, encouraged 64 players to enter the day’s competitio­ns. The one round combined stableford men’s pairs for the Jim Jesney Cup was played, and of the 19 pairs entered, the team of Tom Wallace and Vince Jones were this year’s victors with 73 points, one shot ahead of Rob Morrison and John Giffney. In the overall haggle, Tom Wallace, John Giffney and Rob Page were tied at the top with 39 points, while Alex Standfield, Sarah Tomsett, and Dot Ramsey were all next with 37 points. Rae Brown, Salley Sherson, and Roger Gudsell had 36 points.

Nine-hole Section: Last week a mixed net haggle was held, and the winner was Christine Mercer with a net 32, with Val Mcloughlin next with 34. Following them were Lorraine Meyer 35, with Jan Douglas, Helen Brady, and Lynda Thomson with 36 net. Wednesday Ladies: A fine day for the ladies’ keenly contested stableford haggle, with Edna Connolly and Dot Ramsey both finishing at the head of the field with 38 points, while Jenny Tubman and Rosalind Giffney were next with 36. Following them on 35 were Kay Marshall, Dianne Douglas, and Annette Hetheringt­on. Denise Donald and Jenny O’dwyer shared the hidden hole. The Dreamers Player of the Week was Edna Connolly on a countback with 70 net.

Thursday Men: A great morning for golf was highlighte­d by Ken Mustard’s hole in one, but the division 1 haggle was won by Blair Langdon with 36 points, with John Giffney close behind with

35. Ken Mustard had 34 and John Libby

32. In div 2, Doug Ferguson topped the bill with 38, while Bill Tiffin was next with 37, and Pete Rowe had 36. In overcast conditions in the afternoon haggle, Paul Morgan had the round of the day with 40 points, while Rob Page continued his recent form to come in second with

38. Next were Gary Choat and Jason Baldwin, both with 36 points, while David P. Campbell and Graeme Culton had 35.

Saturday Ladies: A fine day after the previous day’s storm was welcomed by all the day’s players.

The haggle of the day for the ladies was a Stableford, and Jane Wordley achieved some personal milestones in blitzing the field with a great 44 points. Chasing Jane were Sharon Deacon and Jill Morrison, with both having 37 points. Susan Mustard was next with 34, then Wendy Matutinovi­ch and Korrina Lindsey finished with 33.

Saturday men: The morning field enjoyed the conditions with some good scoring. Norm Sanderson and Jethro Meares were both the best with 39 points, while Mark Mora and Tom Rowbotham were just behind with 38. Albertus Potgieter and Bruce Cooper (Auckland Regional Police) had 37, followed by Des Johns with 36 and Marlon Cosmas with 34.

A good afternoon field also had a decent score at the top with Terry Gerbich coming home with a fine 42 points. Michael Matutinovi­ch and Chris Hale were next with 38, while Craig Sandlant and Earl White each had 37, then Murray Fraser was next with 36, while Richard Taitoko and David Morris each scored 35. Wayne Brierley, Mark Tomsett, Peter Dagg, Bryan Smith (Walton), and Ethan Seymour all had 33.

 ?? ?? Mah jong first prize winner Sally Hitchcock.
Mah jong first prize winner Sally Hitchcock.
 ?? ?? Ken Mustard after scoring his hole-inone last Thursday.
Ken Mustard after scoring his hole-inone last Thursday.
 ?? ?? Calum Wood (right) in action for the Swamp Foxes.
Calum Wood (right) in action for the Swamp Foxes.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand