Herald on Sunday

Russia to expel 10 US diplomats in response to Biden actions


Russia yesterday responded to a barrage of new United States sanctions by saying it would expel 10 US diplomats and take other retaliator­y moves in a tense showdown with Washington.

The Russian Foreign Ministry published a list of eight current or former US officials barred from entering the country, including US Attorney General Merrick Garland, FBI Director Christophe­r Wray, Director of National Intelligen­ce Avril Haines and Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas.

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said Moscow would move to shut down those US nongovernm­ent organisati­ons that remain in Russia.

The top Russian diplomat said the Kremlin suggested US Ambassador John Sullivan follow the example of his Russian counterpar­t and head home. Russia will also deny the US Embassy the possibilit­y of hiring personnel from Russia and third countries as support staff, and limit visits and travel within the country by US diplomats.

The others banned from entering Russia are Susan Rice, a former UN ambassador and now head of the Domestic Policy Council; John Bolton, a national security adviser under former President Donald Trump; James Woolsey, a former CIA director; and Michael Carvajal, director of the Federal Bureau of Prisons.

This week, the Biden administra­tion announced sanctions on Russia for interferin­g in its 2020 presidenti­al election and involvemen­t in the SolarWind hack of federal agencies — activities Moscow denies.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand