Col­lege stu­dents hon­oured at prize­giv­ing

Horowhenua Chronicle - - NEWS -

The Pride of Pehu!

Waiopehu Col­lege’s Se­nior Prize­giv­ing on Wed­nes­day this week was an evening of cel­e­bra­tion as stu­dents scored a num­ber of top hon­ours. It is al­ways ex­cit­ing to see hard work re­warded with suc­cess and the aca­demic achieve­ments of our stu­dents were recog­nised by an au­di­to­rium packed full of par­ents, fel­low stu­dents and dis­tin­guished guests. A num­ber of our Year 13 leavers now move onto ter­tiary study, in many cases sup­ported by sig­nif­i­cant schol­ar­ships from Uni­ver­si­ties through­out New Zealand. We would also like to ac­knowl­edge the sup­port of Levin East Elec­tri­cal who have pro­vided a schol­ar­ship to the school for the past 16 years.

Top award win­ners on the night in­cluded:

• Re­bekah Rowan — Dux; Horowhenua Schol­ar­ship Award; Levin East Elec­tri­cal Award, Uni­ver­sity of Otago Lead­ers of To­mor­row En­trance Schol­ar­ship, Dave Her­ries Me­mo­rial Award and the Se­nior Sci­ence Prize

• Ciara Ni­chol­son — Robert Mi­nard Schol­ar­ship (run­ner up to Dux); So­cial Sci­ence Award and the Nathan Guy Cup

• Kelly Car­line — Dux Om­nium Stu­dio­rum; Massey Uni­ver­sity Academy of Sport Schol­ar­ship, Phyl­lis & Fred Sul­li­van Schol­ar­ship and the Phys­i­cal Ed­u­ca­tion Award

• Janae Whaka­rau — Dux Lu­do­rum

• Zoe Car­line — Top Scholar in Year 12

• Kate Ni­chol­son — Top Scholar in Year 11

Re­bekah Rowan was crowned Dux for 2018 and was pre­sented with the Ka¯ kahu (feath­ered cloak) that had been lov­ingly wo­ven by Te Uira Kere­homa and Sue Tucker (first pre­sented in 2017). A spe­cial part of the evening’s pro­ceed­ings was the pre­sen­ta­tion of a taonga to both Te Uira and Sue for the gift of the Ka¯ kahu in 2017.

The Col­lege also took the op­por­tu­nity to farewell staff mem­bers who are mov­ing on, with two long-serv­ing mem­bers of staff — Linda Sher­lock and An­thony Kennedy, re­ceiv­ing spe­cial ac­knowl­edge­ment. The 2019 Stu­dent Ex­ec­u­tive Team was also an­nounced on the night and in­cluded Head Stu­dents Jazzmyn Mack­ieRitchie and Josh Mc­Cart­ney, and Deputy Head Stu­dents Miah Marsters-Sasa and Henry Fonoti.


2019 Head and Deputy Stu­dents — left to right — Henry Fonoti (Deputy HB), Jazzmyn Mackie-Ritchie (Head Girl), Miah Marster­sSasa (Deputy HG) and Josh Mc­Cart­ney (Head Boy).

LVN301118­headsup4 PHO­TOS / AN­DREW YATES

Ciara Ni­chol­son with the Robert Mi­nard Schol­ar­ship as run­ner up to Dux from Deputy Prin­ci­pal Linda Sher­lock.


Re­bekah Rowan, Waiopehu Col­lege Dux 2018 with Mark Robin­son Prin­ci­pal.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.