Hos­pi­tal­ity awards pre­sented to top lo­cal restau­rants

Manawatu Guardian - - STEPPING OUT... - By MERANIA KARAURIA

An­drea Leighton is the new chair of the Palmer­ston North Hos­pi­tal­ity Awards, and it was a first for her to present the awards at a din­ner.

An­drea is Gil­mours Cen­tral sales man­ager, which she said gave her “a unique an­gle into this world”.

“For the past three years my ad­dic­tion has been hos­pi­tal­ity.”

She said that in the rush of learn­ing some­thing new, there was al­ways ex­cit­ment to dis­cover the next great­est thing.

In her role she saw the pas­sion, drive and com­mit­ment of those in the hos­pi­tal­ity trade.

“Get­ting up at crazy o clock, with long hours, frus­tra­tion and heartache, while of­ten putting all you have on the line, are ad­mirable, and of course crazy.”

“Manawatu¯ needs our vi­brant eater­ies, bars and cafes. As a com­mu­nity, we rely on the trade for not only busi­ness and em­ploy­ment, but for the places to dine, so­cialise and catch up with friends.”

The Manawatu¯ hos­pi­tal­ity com­mit­tee started plan­ning the event 10 months ago.

“They are pas­sion­ate in­di­vid­u­als, ded­i­cated to pro­mot­ing and high­light­ing the whole of hos­pi­tal­ity.”

The com­mit­tee mem­bers are Julie Poole, Brian Holmes, Sean Kereama, Reuben Le­ung Wai, Jenni May, Mark Dun­well, James Brag­ger, Paul Shad­bolt, and Bar­bara Taniyama.

The win­ners:

Bid­food Restau­rant of the Year: Amay­jen; Stonecold Distrib­u­tors Eth­nic Restau­rant of the Year: Yatai Iza­kaya Restau­rant; D avis Food In­gre­di­ents Cafe´ of the Year: The Elm Cafe´ ; Nes­tle´ Pro­fes­sional Con­fer­ence and Event Venue of the Year: Or­lando Coun­try Club; River­lea Caterer of the Year: Crafted and Co; Tootill Elec­tri­cal Take­away of the Year: Burger Fuel; Gil­mours Cen­tral Pub of the Year:Brew Union; MHA Bar/Night Spot of the Year:The Brew­ers Ap­pren­tice; NZME Sup­plier of the Year: Davis Trad­ing; Restau­rant As­so­ci­a­tion of NZ Hos­pi­tal­ity Per­son­al­ity of the Year: Scott Kennedy (Nero); Chef’s Choice Chef of the Year: Grant Kitchen (Brew Union); Ebony Cof­fee Barista of the Year: Elise McIl­roy (Cof­fee in a Box); Ucol Emerg­ing Chef of the Year: Ash­lee Tan­ner (Amay­jen); BCE Cater­ing Equip­ment Maitre d’ / F&B Host of the Year: Grace Far­ring­ton (Aberdeen on Broad­way); Stein­lager Waiter of the Year: Is­abelle Elling­ham (Lit­tle Sa­vanna); Hos­pi­tal­ity NZ Bar­tender of the Year: Matt Jen­ner (Brew Union); The Sharon Mann Memo­rial Award for Out­stand­ing con­tin­ued sup­port of hos­pi­tal­ity in the re­gion: Phil Monk.

Hos­pi­tal­ity Awards chair An­drea Leighton ad­dresses the au­di­ence at the awards night.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.