Stratford Press

Challenges ahead for new team, says mayor


South Taranaki’s district councillor­s were sworn in at its inaugural meeting for the new term.

The meeting took place at Ka¯nihi Mawhitiwhi­ti Pa¯ on Thursday, October 27 — the first time it had taken place at a marae.

A po¯whiri welcomed the newly elected members, their friends and family and council staff onto the marae, before council chief executive Waid Crockett opened the meeting and Mayor Phil Nixon, the councillor­s and community board members were sworn into their roles.

South Taranaki mayor Nixon said he was excited by the new council and the calibre of the elected members.

“With a huge raft of Government reforms and the effects of Covid-19 still impacting [us], it’s a challengin­g time, but also one which provides a unique opportunit­y to be involved in the changing face of local government.

“The rewards certainly outweigh the challenges, and our council’s success has always been our ability to work together for the good of all

South Taranaki residents.”

Three new councillor­s (Te Aroha Hohaia, Tuteri Rangihaeat­a and Leanne Horo) and five new community board members (Monica Willson, Heather Brokenshir­e, Andrew Blanche, Owen Savage and Cheryl Rook) join sitting elected members.

At the meeting, Mayor Nixon also announced that councillor Rob Northcott would be his deputy for a second term.

Two byelection­s are required early in the New Year for a Te Ha¯ wera General Ward councillor and a Pa¯tea Community Board position, both of which remain vacant.

Nomination­s for both positions will open on Thursday, November 24, with voting opening on January 26, 2023.

 ?? Photo/ Supplied ?? The new councillor­s were sworn in on October 27.
Photo/ Supplied The new councillor­s were sworn in on October 27.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand