Tues­day Ladies

Taupo & Turangi Weekender - - News -

Last week was clos­ing day for the Tues­day women golfers. The com­pe­ti­tion on the day was a 5/4/3/ sta­ble­ford event and was played in teams of three. The win­ning team was Diana Robertshawe, Chris Player and Mary We­ston. Next was the team of Les­ley Hosk­ing, Sharon Wig­gins and Jenny Cory, closely fol­lowed by the team of Viv Nyssen, Fran Fuller and Beryl Pat­ter­son. Near­est to the pins were won by Chris Thom­son and Chris Player. Sh­eryl Painter was the long­est putt. The evening ended with prize­giv­ing fol­lowed by the AGM. with tro­phy ore­sen­ta­tions for 2018 to fol­low. Team win­ners: First — All the Pres­i­dents Men team with a Net 58 in­cluded Bob Burns, B Plank, Richard Brooker and Vet’s sec­re­tary Mike Corkin. 2nd — Make Amer­ica Great Again team of Roger Men­zies, Mur­ray Stan­ley, Peter Coles and Grant Birch with a Net 59.25. 3rd — Long Put­ters team of Dave Mansell, Terry Brig­house, Ed­die Hawke and Dave Nixon with a net 59.5. 4th — Mal­colm’s Troup team with a net 75 made up of Mal­colm Munro, Tony Seav­ill, Gra­ham Wood­cock and Tony Rut­ledge. 5th — De Jona team — John Chap­man, John Mather, John Roberts and Den­nis Tito a net of 61. 6th — Three Farm­ers and One Wise­man Ttam made a net of 61 and in­volved Les Wraight, Dick Fraser, Martin Bull and Ge­off Bur­ton. 2018 Tro­phy Pre­sen­ta­tions went to: Barry Ni­choll Cup (Sin­gle Match Play) — Martin Bull. Run­ner-up Bob Burns. Barry Ni­choll Plate — Hay­den Baker. Roy Mexted Tro­phy (Pairs Com­bined Net Match Play) — Peter Coles and John Mather. Run­ner-up Bob Burns and Dick Fraser. Len Mur­phy Salver — sta­ble­ford best 6 of 9 on set dates — shared by Ge­off Bur­ton and Bob Cope. Ge­off Jaine Tro­phy (All Irons Day) — Tony Seav­ille. Ray Trainer Cup — John Ja­cobs. Bar­ney Pea­cock Tro­phy (Net Medal — best 3 of 4 rounds) — Les Wraight for his score of 203. Ec­clec­tic: Gross Se­niors Bob Burns 57 from Les Wraight 58 and Sel­wyn McLen­nan 59; Ju­niors Gary Baird 71, Doug Cullen and David Mansell 72. Hand­i­cap Sel­wyn McLen­nan 51.5, Les Wraight 52 and Peter Coles 54.5. De­cem­ber 5 Christ­mas Ham­per Day spon­sored by Cen­tral Mo­tor Group on Tauhara.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.