Rock­ets win first ti­tle for Rose­town club Newly-crowned darts cham­pi­ons un­beaten in 12 matches

Te Awamutu Courier - - News - BY COLIN THORSEN

Rose­town Rock­ets ended Ohaupo¯ ¯ ’s long reign as Te Awa­mutu Darts cham­pi­ons, break­ing through for their first ti­tle since form­ing the Rose­town club nine years ago.

The line-up of David Scott, Greg Chard, An­thony Bent­ley, Trent Framp­ton, Ken McDowall and Jamie Te Nana went through the cham­pi­onship round un­beaten, win­ning all 12 matches, in­clud­ing back-to-back wins over last year’s cham­pi­ons O¯ haupo¯ by 14-9 and 13-10 mar­gins.

“We are stoked to have fi­nally won some sil­ver­ware,” said McDowall. “Ev­ery­one is buzzing. We’ve been run­ners-up pre­vi­ously but never won a ti­tle. We had a few cel­e­bra­tory drinks and a bar­be­cue on Satur­day night.”

McDowall said beat­ing Ohaupo¯ ¯ for the sec­ond time in the cham­pi­onship was the ic­ing on the cake to a mem­o­rable sea­son.

“O¯ haupo¯ have been the pow­er­house in Te Awa­mutu Darts for the past decade. To beat them for a sec­ond time when they were out to avenge their ear­lier loss to us was no mean feat.”

Rose­town Rock­ets are cur­rently play­ing out of Waipa¯ Work­ing­men’s Club await­ing Waipa¯ Dis­trict Coun­cil ap­proval to move into their own clu­b­rooms in Castle­ton Park.

O¯haupo¯ stal­wart Tama Reuben said his team was gut­ted to have lost, but he was proud of his play­ers who won nine of their 12 matches.

“We didn’t un­der-es­ti­mate a resur­gent Rose­town Rock­ets side that has en­joyed a bloody good sea­son, but we weren’t into it on the night. Full credit to Rose­town Rock­ets. Go­ing through un­beaten is an out­stand­ing feat.”

Reuben warned that his run­ners-up team was like a wounded an­i­mal.

“We will come back fight­ing again in 2019,” he said.

De­spite Rose­town Rock­ets wrap­ping up the cham­pi­onship, there was plenty of pride at stake in their fi­nal round clash against O¯ haupo¯ .

The triples were drawn 1-1 be­fore Rose­town Rock­ets edged ahead 3-2 af­ter the pairs. The first two legs of the sin­gles were both drawn 3-3. O¯ haupo¯ took the lead for the first time in the match (10-9) win­ning the first two matches in leg three of the sin­gles, only to see Rose­town Rock­ets win all four re­main­ing matches to clinch the win, 13-10.

Stand­out per­form­ers for the Rock­ets were McDowall and Te Nana who went through the night un­beaten. Team­mate David Scott threw two 180s to end the cham­pi­onship round with seven max­i­mums.

No fewer than 69 180s were thrown in this sea­son’s cham­pi­onship round alone. Scott lead­ing the way with his seven, Paul Cleaver (WMC Drag­ons) 5, Tama Reuben (O¯ haupo¯ ) 4, Shaun Duval (Mis­fits) 6 and Rob Day (Tung­stens) 5.

WMC Hunters fin­ished third with eight wins, round­ing out their cham­pi­onship cam­paign with a 19-4 win over Rose­town Rebels — de­spite the op­po­si­tion’s Shane Fos­ter (2) and Ness Wat­son throw­ing 180s.

Tung­stens clinched fourth spot (with their sixth win) with a nail-bit­ing 12-11 win over fifth placed Mis­fits from Joy’s Bar. The match fea­tured four 180s, two from each team by Daryl Wheeler, Athol Robert­son (Tung­stens) and Shaun Duval, Rhys O’Con­nor (Mis­fits).

In di­vi­sion two, run­away cham­pi­ons WMC Drag­ons recorded their 13th win from 15 matches down­ing fourth placed Rose­town Thorns 13-2.

The vic­to­ri­ous WMC Drag­ons team was Paul Cleaver, Glen Forde, Ken Jamieson, Shay Coldrick, Paul Cox and Dave Jack.

O¯ haupo¯ Tigers clinched run­ners-up with a 14-1 romp over bot­tom of the ta­ble RSA Bombers. Tigers fin­ished with a nine win, six loss record.

Bombers’ Jo­ce­lyn Dunn and Drag­ons’ Paul Cleaver threw 180s the pre­vi­ous week against WMC Raiders and third-placed RSA All­sorts re­spec­tively.

A fur­ther eight were thrown on Oc­to­ber 9 by Rhys O’Con­nor, Shaun Duval (Mis­fits), Gene Gratwick, Da­mon War­brick (WMC Hunters), Ken McDowall (Rose­town Rock­ets), Doug Sat­tler, Ken Bard­s­ley (War­riors) and Chad Bea­z­ley (O¯ haupo¯ ).

Photo / Colin Thorsen

The vic­to­ri­ous Rose­town Rock­ets team in cel­e­bra­tory mood af­ter win­ning the Te Awa­mutu Darts cham­pi­onship for the first time. From left: Ken McDowall, An­thony Bent­ley, Trent Framp­ton, Court­ney Payne, David Scott, Rob Wil­son, Steve Pi­card, Paula Hirst, Greg Chard, Jaime Te Nana.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.