Gibbes re­warded

Te Awamutu Courier - - News -

Mitre 10 Cup head coach Jono Gibbes re­ceived two awards at the Waikato Rugby Union end of sea­son awards at the Win­tec Atrium.

The for­mer Te Awa­mutu Sports Se­nior A lock/flanker won the Kukri Rep­re­sen­ta­tive Coach of the Year fol­lowed by the top award, the pres­ti­gious Ian Clarke Tro­phy awarded to a Waikato per­son who has achieved the most out­stand­ing re­sults over the past 12 months.

Gibbes took over as head coach for the 2018 sea­son.

In one sea­son he guided the team to a Ran­furly Shield win over Taranaki, fol­lowed by two suc­cess­ful shield de­fences, a Chiefs Coun­try Cup win to lift the tro­phy from Bay of Plenty and a Mitre 10 Cup Cham­pi­onship di­vi­sion win to gain pro­mo­tion back into the Pre­mier­ship in 2019.

With all of the team’s suc­cesses this sea­son, it was no sur­prise the Mitre 10 Cup squad was named the Hendl & Mur­ray Rep­re­sen­ta­tive Team of the Year.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.