Ac­knowl­edged for ser­vices to sport

Te Awamutu Courier - - News -

It was a mem­o­rable night for hus­band and wife Joe and Linda Sprangers at the 2018 Waipa¯ Net­works District Sports Awards.

The Sprangers were two of eight Ser­vice to Sport award re­cip­i­ents at the Don Row­lands Cen­tre, Kara¯piro on Mon­day night.

“For over 28 years Joe has demon­strated his ex­per­tise and been in­flu­en­tial with many of the club roles, from coach, men­tor and board mem­ber to val­ued pres­i­dent,” Te Awa­mutu Rugby Sports & Re­cre­ation Club man­ager Pe­ter Arn­dell said. Joe was the found­ing trustee of the Grand­stand Com­mu­nity Trust and is a board mem­ber of Te Awa­mutu Rugby Sport & Re­cre­ation Club.

Linda Sprangers has played net­ball since 1994 and has held var­i­ous com­mit­tee po­si­tions. She is pres­i­dent of Te Awa­mutu Sports Net­ball Club and has been awarded both Ser­vice to Sport and life mem­ber­ship for Pa­per Plus Te Awa­mutu Net­ball Cen­tre. Linda is a New Zealand um­pire and was in­stru­men­tal in set­ting up and men­tor­ing the Te Awa­mutu Net­ball Cen­tre um­pire coach­ing team.

Keith Bain, Gayle Black­well, Shel­ley Blair, Evan de la Rue, Ross Ward­law and Judy Hoff­man were also recog­nised.

Keith Bain started coach­ing and of­fi­ci­at­ing in 1977. As di­rec­tor of sport at Te Awa­mutu Col­lege he is renowned for or­gan­is­ing and run­ning a vast num­ber of sports and events. He is or­gan­iser of the King Coun­try Sec­ondary Schools Ath­let­ics and Swim­ming Cham­pi­onships and hosted the Waikato Bay of Plenty Sec­ondary Schools Cross Coun­try events.

For over 25 years Gayle Black­well has un­der­taken many roles for the Te Awa­mutu Mo­tor­cy­cle Club — sec­re­tary, trea­surer, lap scorer and points co-or­di­na­tor.

“Gayle demon­strates in­tegrity, hon­esty and re­li­a­bil­ity in her roles which is the driv­ing force for the suc­cess of the club. Her fi­nan­cial savvy and abil­ity to co-or­di­nate the points are im­pec­ca­ble,” her nom­i­na­tion said.

Shel­ley Blair started teach­ing chil­dren with spe­cial needs how to swim over 15 years ago. She iden­ti­fied a need to sup­port ath­letes in a more for­mal way and in 2009 she es­tab­lished the Te Awa­mutu Spe­cial Olympics Swim­ming Club.

Her club said due to her ded­i­ca­tion and vol­un­teer work, the club was widely re­spected both lo­cally and na­tion­ally.

She has taken the club to many re­gional events and three na­tional level events.

Evan de la Rue is a life mem­ber of Ohaupo¯ ¯ Rugby and Sports Club, Te Awa­mutu Rugby Ref­er­ees As­so­ci­a­tion, Waikato Rugby Ref­eree’s As­so­ci­a­tion and Kaipaki Ten­nis Club.

“Evan has al­ways got the best out of peo­ple he has coached and ref­er­eed as he is al­ways pos­i­tive and un­der­stands the pas­sion and com­pet­i­tive na­ture of sport,” his nom­i­na­tion said. Evan won three na­tional ti­tles in the 80 year­splus cat­e­gories for sin­gle and dou­bles ten­nis. He re­cently gained a sil­ver medal in the Or­lando world­wide com­pe­ti­tion.

Ross Ward­law is a grass­roots rugby ref­eree with over 30 year’s ser­vice. He is a life mem­ber of Te Awa­mutu Rugby Ref­er­ees As­so­ci­a­tion.

At Waikato level, Ross has been on coach­ing and grad­ing com­mit­tees for over 10 years and steps down this year to fo­cus on the Te Awa­mutu Rugby Ref­er­ees As­so­ci­a­tion. Ross coaches ref­er­ees and is still ac­tively ref­er­ee­ing ju­nior rugby. He is an as­sis­tant ref­eree for se­nior rugby.

Cam­bridge Mini Hockey is flour­ish­ing thanks to Judy Hoff­man.

From the early days of es­tab­lish­ing hockey for pri­mary school aged chil­dren there were 12 teams. From its in­cep­tion in 2006 to date, there are now 58 teams par­tic­i­pat­ing in Mini Hockey across Waipa¯ and over 500 chil­dren play­ing the sport. All the work Judy has done is vol­un­tary and this year she set up a com­mit­tee to fu­ture-proof Cam­bridge Mini hockey.

Photo / Lisa Bishop Sport Waikato

Waipa¯ District Ser­vice to Sports awards re­cip­i­ents, from left, Evan de La Rue, Shel­ley Blair, Gayle Black­well, Keith Bain, Judy Hoff­man, Joe Sprangers, Linda Sprangers and Ross Ward­law.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.